Farnley near Leeds, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Farnley near Leeds

Farnley near Leeds, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leeds Borough
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Carlton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Hunslet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1791
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813; For more records see Leeds [St Peter]
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FARNLEY, a chapelry, in that part of the parish of St. Peter, Leeds, which is within the liberty of Leeds, though locally in the wapentake of Morley, union of Leeds, W. riding of York, 3½ miles (W. by S.) from Leeds; containing 1530 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Farnley near Leeds, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
FARNLEY NEAR LEEDS CHAPELRY (1724) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1791-1812 1791-1812 1791-1812 1791-1812 1791-1812 1791-1812
FS 1724-1833

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leeds to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LEEDS PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.

Church records for St Michael's Parish Church, St James Chapel and Farnley Hill Methodist have been indexed at http://www.calverley.info/farn_home.htm.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464286.

[1]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

A range of miscellaneous records are indexed at [2]. The records for Farnley and surrounding villages can also be searched from the main Calverley parish site at [3]

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 216-220. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,188 times.