Farnworth and Kearsley, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Farnworth and Kearsley, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See A Comprehensive List of Chapelries in Deane Parish

Farnworth and Kearsley, Lancashire
St John Farnworth Bolton.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bolton PLU
Registration District Bolton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1825
Bishop's Transcripts: 1826
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolton le Moors
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FARNWORTH (St. John), a separate parish created in 1828, from Deane Parish in the union of Bolton, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 2¼ miles south by southeast of Bolton; comprising the townships of Farnworth and Kearsley. In the reign of Queen Mary, Farnworth township, lately a part of the parish of Deane, was a portion of the township of Barton-upon-Irwell, in Eccles parish, though distant from it about five miles. In 1663 it was still called "the hamlet of Farnworth within the township of Barton." The township of Farnworth and the adjoining township of Kearsley were separated 23rd of July 1828, from the parish of Deane, and constituted a distinct parish, under the act 58th George III. The church commenced operating in 1826. Be sure to view the A Comprehensive List of Chapelries in Deane Parish for important information about the area chapels attached to Deane Parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Includes transcripts for this parish.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Farnworth and Kearsley chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Deane to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
FARNWORTH WITH KEARSLEY ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST CHAPELRY (1826) Indexes
Baptisms  Marriages Burials
AC 1826-1900 1830-1901 1826-1903
FS 1826-1840 1830-1849 None
LOPC 1826-1906  1830-1909 1826-1903
LBMD  None 1837-1992  None
DEANE ST MARY THE VIRGIN PARISH (1636) Indexes (ancient parish containing FARNWORTH WITH KEARSLEY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1829 1604- 1812 None
LOPC 1604-1750  1604-1750; 1837-1890 1604-1684; 1813-1887
AC 1613-1750 1613-1750 None
LBMD None 1837-1992 None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Farnworth and Kearsley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Deane to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DEANE PARISH page.


Farnworth with Kearsley- St John

Transcripts are available on-line at Lancashire Online P Parish Clerks.

Baptisms-1826-1840- MFPR 193
Baptisms-1841-1873- MFPR 1352
Baptisms-1873-1890- MFPR 1353
Baptisms-1890-1900- MFPR 1354
Burials-1826-1852- MFPR 193
Burials-1852-1903- MFPR 1358
Marriages-1830-1849- MFPR 193
Marriages-1849-1867- MFPR 1355
Marriages-1867-1878- MFPR 1356
Marriages-1878-1901- MFPR 1357

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)


Parish registers for St. John's, Farnworth (near Bolton), 1826-1903 Microfilm of original records at the Manchester Public Library, and at the Manchester Archives formerly at Central Library in Manchester, England.
The chapelry of Farnworth, which includes the township of Kersley, is in the parish of Deane.
The church is also known as St. John's.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L202/1/1/1-9, L202/1/2/1-9, L202/1/3/1-7.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1826-January 1890.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357393
Baptisms, February 1890-1900. Marriages, 1830-1849, 1872-1878 (title board incorrect), 1858-January 1868.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2357394
Marriages, January 1868-October 1898.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2357395
Marriages, October 1898-1901. Burials, 1826-1903.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357396 Items 1 - 8
Baptisms, 1826-1840. Marriages, 1830-1849. Burials, 1826-1852. (another filming)
FHL BRITISH Film
950397


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306925.

Genealogy

Todd, A.A.  Lord of Kearsley, Farnworth, Ainsworth, Bolton and Tyldesley. History and family tree of John Lord and Mary surname unknown, dating from 1724-1859, with the following surnames.  Watson, Kay Taylor, Grundy, Pickering, Dixon, Thornley, Hardman, Bordman, Smith, Berry, Reece, Whittaker, Isherwood, Ratcliffe, Bowker, Bardburn. In another family tree of Joshua Lord, wife unknown, with family names Gregory, Smith, Whittaker, Halliwell, dating 1746-1831. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, Vol.8. no.3, pages 20-32 Family History Library Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Bolton, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 216-220.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 3,869 times.