Farringdon, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Farringdon, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Farringdon, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Budleigh
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas PLU
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aylesbeare
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FARINGDON, a village and a parish in St. Thomas district, Devon. The village stands 3 miles SSE of Broad Clist railway station, and 5½ ESE of Exeter: was formerly known as Ferendon; and is a small scattered place. The parish includes part of Clis-Satchfield tything; and its post town is Topsham, under Exeter. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Farringdon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
FARRINGDON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1620-1788

FMP 1620-1902 1620-1902
IGI 1610-1812 1610-1639, 1679-1788, 1840-1850
PRTS
1620-1788

TGEN
1620-1788

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241304.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. John M. Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72. Date Accessed: 2 July 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,897 times.