Faulkner County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Faulkner County
Woolly Hollow State Park, Faulkner County, Missouri by Justin Fisher

Guide to Faulkner County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.




Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records







Faulkner County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Faulkner County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 12, 1873
County Seat Conway
Courthouse
Address Faulkner County Courthouse
801 Locust Street;
Conway, AR 72032
Phone: 501.450.4910

Contents

County Courthouse

Faulkner County Courthouse
801 Locust Street;
Conway, AR 72032
Phone: 501.450.4910

County Clerk has marriage, probate and court records from 1873.[1]

Beginning years for Faulkner County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1873 1914* 1873 1873 1873
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1873--Faulkner County was created 12 April 1873 from Pulaski and Conway Counties.  County seat: Conway [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cleburne • Conway  • Lonoke  • Perry  • Pulaski  • Van Buren  • White

Faulkner CountyWhite CountyPrairie CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountySaline CountyPerry CountyConway CountyVan Buren CountyCleburne CountyJackson CountyWoodruff CountyMonroe CountyArkansas CountyJefferson CountyGrant CountyHot Spring CountyGarland CountyPope CountyNewton CountySearcy CountyStone CountyIndependence CountyARFaulkner.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Online Faulkner County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Faulkner County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

LDS Ward and Branch Records
  • Barney
Faulkner County Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • McPherson, Alexander. The history of Faulkner County, Arkansas. Salt Lake City, Utah : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2007.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • 1722 - The first European explorers in the area were the group traveling with Jean-Baptiste Bénard de La Harpe, who traveled up the Arkansas River from Arkansas Post (Arkansas County).
  • 1818-1828 - The northwest section of Faulkner County was included in a Cherokee reservation.
  • 1834 - Many Native Americans died from cholera and were buried in Cadron in early 1834. Fear of the disease caused many settlers to abandon Cadron; no community now exists in that location.
  • 1873 April 12 - Faulkner County was one of nine counties established by the Republican state legislature during Reconstruction.
  • 1878 - Holy Ghost Fathers mission society brought in Roman Catholic settlers from Germany.

Maps

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Faulkner County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1873-1950 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1873-1910; County Court records 1873-1900; Dockets 1874-1886; Executor bonds 1874-1950; Guardian bonds 1873-1908; Letters of administration 1873-1919 and 1941; Letters of guardianship 1873-1918; Letters of testamentary 1874-1949; Probate record index 1873-1880; Probate records 1873-1889; Wills 1879-1926.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes


Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Faulkner County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Societies

Faulkner County Historical Society
Faulkner County Historical Society
P.O. Box 731
Conway, Arkansas 72033
(501) 329-5918


Valley Genealogy Society Researchers interested in CONWAY, FAULKNER, PERRY, POPE, YELL AND VAN BUREN COUNTIES.
Farm Bureau Building
201 E. Shady Lane
Morrilton, Arkansas

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Faulkner County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Faulkner County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Faulkner County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Faulkner County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 December 2014, at 19:18.
  • This page has been accessed 14,321 times.