Faversham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Faversham, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Faversham, Kent
Faversham St Mary of Charity Kent.jpg
Faversham St Mary of Charity Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faversham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Faversham PLU
Registration District Faversham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1620
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ospringe
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FAVERSHAM, or Feversham (St. Mary), a seaport, market-town, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Faversham, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 9 miles (W.) from Canterbury, 18 (E. N. E.) from Maidstone, and 47 (E.) from London, on the road to Dovor. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]


Faversham St Mary of Charity is an Ancient Parish in the market town of Faversham. See Faversham Wikipedia for a history of the town, Faversham Abbey and the parish church.

The church originates from the 14th and 15th centuries but in 1755 was rebuilt and in 1797 the mediaeval tower was pulled down and replaced. Sir George Gilbert Scott restored the church 1873-1875.

The church is designated grade I by English Heritage.British listed building

It is one of the few churches in England to contain the reputed tomb of a King; King Stephen was buried here in 1154 and the tomb commemorates his burial at Faversham Abbey.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 6 (1798), pp. 318-371 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

From the Ancient parish was formed:

Faversham St John the Evangelist (1881) The Church of St John the Evangelist, Church Road, Faversham has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building  See Kent Churches website

Two mission churches, the Church of St Saviour, Cyprus Road Faversham has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

See Faversham Registration District

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Faversham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Faversham, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1620-1902; 1754-1901 (Banns) 1620-1902; 1754-1901 (Banns) 1620-1895 1620-1895

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Faversham The Brents St John the Evangelist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Faversham The Brents St John the Evangelist Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1881-1916 1881-1916

Nonconformists

International Genealogical Index :

  • Partridge Lane Independent Christenings 1790-1837 Batch (C068241)
  • Union Chapel Water Lane Christenings 1822-1837 Batch (C068261)
  • Wesleyan Chapel Christenings 1814-1837 Batch (C068251)

Land Tax

Images for Faversham Land Tax Assessments 1739-1762

Images for Faversham are also available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306867.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.


Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Faversham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 220-225. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,486 times.