Faxton, NorthamptonshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Faxton, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Faxton, Northamptonshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Orlingbury
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Brixworth PLU
Registration District Brixworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569; For more records see Lamport
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothwell
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FAXTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Lamport, union of Brixworth, hundred of Orlingbury, N. division of the county of Northampton, 6 miles (W. S. W.) from Kettering. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Faxton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
FAXTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1776-1836

FREG 1753-1912 1558-1837 1755-1914
PALL
1790-1837

TGEN 1570-1837
1570-1837
1570-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438879.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 December 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:23.
  • This page has been accessed 955 times.