Fayette County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Fayette County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Franklin County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Franklin County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Fayette County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Fayette County Courthouse
110 East Court Street
Washington, Ohio 43160
Fayette County Website
United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Fayette County

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1810
1868
1810
1810
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Highland and Ross Counties 19 February 1810.[1]
  • County Seat: Washington Court House



Neighboring Counties

Madison County  • Pickaway County  • Ross County  • Highland County  • Clinton County  • Greene County


Fayette CountyRoss CountyPickaway CountyFairfield CountyFranklin CountyClark CountyMiami CountyGreene CountyMontgomery CountyChampaign CountyMadison CountyClermont CountyBrown CountyPike CountyHighland CountyClinton CountyWarren CountyOHFayette.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Good Hope, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Click for the Fayette County Government Information Center.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Marquis de Lafayette.JPG

The county is named after Revolutionary War hero, the Marquis de Lafayette (1757-1834).[2]

Local histories are available for Fayette County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local History
  • Allen, Frank M., History of Fayette County, Ohio: her people, industries and institutions… (Indianapolis, Indiana : B.F. Bowen, 1914) Digital version at Google Books; Internet Archives; available on microfilm at FHL film 934896 Item 3.
  • Dills, R.S., History of Fayette County together with historic notes on the Northwest, and the state of Ohio… (Dayton, Ohio : Odell & Mayer, 1881) Digital version at Google Books; Internet Archives; available on microfilm at FHL film 934896 Item 1.
  • Putnam, Rufus Pioneer record and reminiscences of the early settlers and settlement of Fayette County, Ohio (Cincinnati, Ohio : Applegate, Pounsford & Co., 1872) Digital version at Google Books; ]; available on microfilm at FHL film 896538 Item 2.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. ===== Finding More Land Records =====

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohfayette.jpg

Military

War of 1812

Gettys, Rober Clay, Fayette County Militia on the Ohio Frontier : War of 1812 (Belfast Northern Ireland, Gettys, 1985) pages 12  FHL Book 977.A1

Civil War

Civil War service men from Fayette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fayette County.

- 54th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A, C, and I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Fayette County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
Online Newspapers


Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Fayette County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Fayette County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Fayette County Courthouse
110 E Court Street
Washington Court House, OH 43160-1355
Phone: 614.335.5910 

Clerk Court has divorce records from 1853
and court records from 1828; Probate Judge
has probate records; County recorder has
land records[1]

Family History Centers

Wilmington Ohio Family History Centerr

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Fayette County Genealogical Society, P.O. Box 342, Washington Court House, Ohio 43160. Publishes quarterly newsletter.

Fayette County Historical Society, 517 Columbus Avenue, Washington Court House, Ohio 43160.

Taxation

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Fayette County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Fayette County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Fayette County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records



Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • 1867-1908 - Fayette County Archive 1867-1908 Death Index Compiled by staff of the Carnegie Public Library, this index provides Book # and Page number information searchable by name.
  • 1908-1953 - Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch.org from the Ohio Department of Health via the Ohio Historical Society. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
  • various years - St. Colman Church Death Records Patron-donated index of of the St. Colman Church. Searchable index.  Search results include the name, address (city and state), date of death and burial, name of cemetery, name of minister.
  • various years - Fayette County death records Courtesy OhioGenWeb

Online Death Indexes and Records

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Divorce

Web Sites

Places

Populated Places

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. "Fayette County, Ohio," Wikipedia.
  3. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 October 2014, at 19:49.
  • This page has been accessed 14,787 times.