Fayette County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Fayette County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Fayette County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||December 14, 1837|
|County Seat||La Grange|
Fayette County Courthouse
PO Box 59
La Grange, TX 78945-2657
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate and land records from 1838;
District Clerk has divorce records from 1838
P.O. Box 59
La Grange 78945
151 N. Washington St. Rm. 102
La Grange 78945
Part of Stephen F. Austin's Colony.
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- High Hill
- La Grange
- Round Top
- Swiss Alp
- Cities and towns: Carmine | Fayetteville | Flatonia | La Grange | Muldoon | Round Top | Schulenburg
- Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Round Top
- Records of Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Round Top, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Fayetteville
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Fayette County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Fayette County: Her History and Her People, 1902, by Frank Lotto. Digitized Book online from archive.org.
- An Early History of Fayette County, 1936, by Leonie Rummel Weyand and Houston Wade.
- Chronicles of Fayette, 1975 by Julia Lee Sinks.
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Flatonia 1881 Panoramic Map from the Amon Carter Museum.
- LaGrange 1880 Panoramic Map from the Amon Carter Museum.
- Fayette County 1840 from The Portal to Texas History
- Fayette County 1843 from The Portal to Texas History
- Fayette County 1865 from The Portal to Texas History
- Fayette County 1871 from The Portal to Texas History
- Fayette County General Highway Map 1940 from the Texas
- Fayette County General Highway Map 1961 from the Texas
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Fayette County Korean and Vietnam Veteran's Plaque
- Fayette County World War II Veterans Plaque
- Fayette County World War I Veterans Plaque
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Fayette County Newspapers selected issues of The Texas Monument 1850-1852, The True Issue 1856-1864, The LaGrange New Era 1871, The Fayette County Record 1873-1876, Slovan 1880, and the Lagrange Intelligencer 1884, from The Portal to Texas History.
- Fayette County Record newspaper
- Flatonia Argus newspaper
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
- Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 (images) - FamilySearch
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005bsp; - Hidden Ancestors
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Deaths and Burials 1903 - 1973 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- USGenWeb Census Project Texas 1850 - 1930
Societies and Libraries
Fayette Heritage Museum and Archives
855 South Jefferson Street
La Grange, Texas78945
Phone: 979-968-3765 or 979-968-6418
Fayette County History
Fayette Public Library
855 S Jefferson
La Grange, TX 78945
Phone: (979) 968-3765
Schulenburg Public Library
700 Bohlmann Ave
Schulenburg, TX 78956
Phone: (979) 743-3345
Round Top Family Library
206 W Mill St
Round Top, TX 78954
Phone: (979) 249-2700
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Society Hill Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
- Fayette County TXGenWeb Site
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fayette County, Texas. Page 663 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "Fayette County, Texas," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handbook of Texas Online (Texas State Historical Association, 2010).
- ↑ "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
- This page was last modified on 19 August 2015, at 00:59.
- This page has been accessed 15,410 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News