Fazeley, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Fazeley, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fazeley, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Tamworth PLU
Registration District Tamworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1816
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tamworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FAZELEY, a district chapelry, in the parish and union of Tamworth, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 1½ mile (S.)from Tamworth. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births and deaths. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of  Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Fazeley St Paul formerly a township in Tamworth, Staffordshire was formed in 1813

Fazeley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[2]
FAZELEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1842-1867


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1816-1885 Mar 1842-1891 Bur 1855-1907
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1842-1867 Mar none Bur 1855-1867

from this parish Fazeley St Barnabas (Mile Oak) was formed about 1955 No deposited records for this parish. 



Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474616.

Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Fazeley/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 225-228. Date accessed: 23 October 2012.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  3. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 00:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,178 times.