Felton, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NorthumberlandGotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Felton, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Felton, Northumberland
St Michael and All Angels Church Felton Northumberland.JPG
St Michael and All Angels Church Felton Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale; Morpeth
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Alnwick PLU
Registration District Alnwick; Morpeth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alnwick
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)

Contents

Parish History

ACTON, with Old Felton, a township, in the parish of Felton, union of Alnwick, E. division of Coquetdale ward, N. division of Northumberland, 7½ miles (S.) from Alnwick.[1]

Additional information:

Felton St Michael and All Angels is a parish that includes: Acton and Old Felton, Bockenfield, Elyhaugh, Eshott, Felton, Greens and Glantlees, Swarland, and Thirston East and West with Shothaugh.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/107 Date: 1765-1843  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.Felton, St Michael and All Angels: Records of baptisms 1653-1924, marriages 1656-1985 and burials 1653-1951 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1653-1812 and marriages 1656-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1656-1812 and banns 1754-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1653-1812, marriages 1656-1812, burials 1653-1812 and of monumental inscriptions for Felton are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Nonconformist Records
  • Felton Park, St. Mary (Roman Catholic): - Records of baptisms 1792-1858 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes births/baptisms 1792-1840.
  • The Felton and Swarland Local History Society have published a Presbyterian Baptisms Index for Felton 1880-1993.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438891.

Poor Law Unions

Alnwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,115 times.