Fence-in-Pendle, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Fence-in-Pendle, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fence-in-Pendle, Lancashire
St Anne fence Lancashire contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe PLU
Registration District Blackburn; Burnley; Clitheroe; Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1837
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Fence-in-Pendle (St Anne) was created a chapelry in 1837 from Whalley Ancient Parish. It is located in the township of Old Laund Booth 3 miles north of Burnley. Due to the neighbouring Reedley Hallows, Filly Close and New Laund Booth, Lancashire extra parochial area some recorded events in registers may apply to that area.[1]

The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Fence-in-Pendle chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


FENCE-IN-PENDLE ST ANNE Chapelry  (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1837-1900 1838-1900 1837-1872
LOPC 1837-2010 1838-1981 1837-1899
LBMD None 1838-1982 None
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing FENCE-IN-PENDLE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Fence-in-Pendle and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY PARISH page.


Parish registers for Fence-in-Pendle, 1837-1900 Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Fence-in-Pendle is a chapelry in the parish of Whalley.
Lancashire Record Office no.: PR 3175/1/1-3, 8-9

Bishop's transcripts for Fence-in-Pendle, 1871-1874 Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Fence-in-Pendle is a chapelry in the parish of Whalley.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899.


Poor Law Unions

Clitheroe Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 302-305. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 2,944 times.