Fenton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Fenton, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Fenton, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stoke on Trent PLU
Registration District Stoke upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1839
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke upon Trent
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FENTON-CULVERT, or Great Fenton, an ecclesiastical district, in the borough and parish of Stokeupon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehilland of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (E. S. E.) from Newcastle-under-Lyme.  There are places of worship for Wesleyans, and Methodists of the New Connexion. [1]


In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Fenton like this:

FENTON, a chapelry and a sub-district in Stoke-upon-Trent parish and district, Stafford. The chapelry lies on the Hanley branch of the North Staffordshire railway, near the Grand Trunk canal. 1 mile SE of Stoke-upon-Trent.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fenton Christ Church was formed in 1840 from Fenton in Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire EP

Fenton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]    FREG - Search under Stoke-Upon-Trent
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]  
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
FENTON CHRIST CHURCH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1865-1882


FREG
1839-1846



1839-1873

FS 1839-1875




NBI



1808-1832

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1839-1965 Mar 1841-1947 Bur 1839-1951
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop’s Transcripts Bap 1839-1875 Mar 1841-1852  Bur 1839-1875

Non-Conformist Churches

Temple St Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (Fenton)  registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  TEMPLE ST WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (FENTON) (1799) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1799-1837





Cemetery Records

Fenton Cemetery[3]

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1887-1909

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Poor Law Unions

Stoke Upon Trent Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 230-232. Date accessed: 23 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 September 2013.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 1 June 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 July 2014, at 00:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,813 times.