Feock, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Feock, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Feock, Cornwall
Feock Church -Cornwall.jpg
Feock Church -Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro PLU
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FEOCK, ST. (St. Feock), a parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 5 miles (S.) from Truro. There are places of worship for Baptists, Calvinists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Feock Saint Feocca is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.Other places in the parish include: Carnon Downs, Devoran, Penpoll, and Townsend.

The Parish Church is dedicated to Saint Feoca, about whom very little is known. Although the saint is usually assumed to have been female, Hals described a stained glass window in the church with St Feock portrayed as a man.

The church has a 13th century tower and font, the remainder being 19th century.

Thomas Lobb, Victorian botanist and plant hunter is buried in Devoran churchyard. Trelissick Garden has been in the ownership of the National Trust since 1955 when it was donated by Ida Copeland following the death of her son Geoffrey, a stained glass memorial—bearing the Copeland Crest—remains to this effect in the small church in Feock.

Feock is twinned with the Breton village L'Hôpital Camfrout in Finistère, Brittany, France

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Feock, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5][6][7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[11]
Feock, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1597-1672

COPC 1671-1911 (gaps)
1597-1911
1671-1936
CPRI 1843-1905
1598-1783, 1837-1900
1729-1812
FMP 1597-1874 1597-1837 1813-1837
FREG 1671-1812, 1820-1887
1671-1907
1671-1959
FS PRs 1671-1807, 1820-1887 1671-1807, 1754-1907 1671-1959
IGI 1597-1812, 1843-1875 1597-1670
TGEN 1676-1812


Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall County Record Office reference P 64/

Note that Devoran,Cornwall P 49 may also be relevant for searches

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Feock.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241269.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Feock in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 230-232 Date accessed: 13 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  9. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  10. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  11. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 15:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,971 times.