Ferry County, WashingtonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Washington
Ferry County
Guide to Ferry County Washington genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Ferry County, Washington | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Washington | |
![]() Location of Washington in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 18, 1899 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Republic |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Ferry County Courthouse 350 East Delaware; PO Box 302 Republic, WA 99166 Phone: 509.775.5232 Ferry County Website |
Historical Records
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 18 February 1899 from Stevens
- County Seat: Republic [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Lincoln | Okanogan | Stevens | British Columbia (to the north)
Boundary Changes
- Prior to 1848, both Great Britain and the United States had joint ownership of the area.
- On July 4, 1843 a provisional government for the Oregon Territory was formed. Of the four districts created, current Ferry County was in the Clackamas District.[2]
- On August 18, 1845, the Vancouver District was created.[3]
- On December 22, 1845, districts were changed to counties. [4]
- On August 5, 1846, the Treaty of Ghent established 49 degrees north as the northern border of the United States and the Oregon Territory was formed.[5]
- On September 3, 1849, Vancouver County was changed to Clark County.[6]
- On 2 March 1853, the Washington Territory was created by President Millard Fillmore. The Washington Territory included current Idaho, parts of Montana and Wyoming. Washington became a state 11 November 1889 under President Benjamin Harrison. Clark County contained current Ferry County.[7]
- On 25 April 1854, Walla Walla County was created 25 April 1954 from Clark County and Skamania County.[8]
- On January 20, 1863, Stevens County was created. It covered current Okanogan and Ferry Counties.[9]
- In 4 March 1863, Idaho Territory was created.[10]
- On 19 January 1864, Spokane County was disorganized and placed under Stevens County. County went from summit of Cascade Mountains to the Wenachee River, to the Columbia River, along the Snake River, to the Idaho Territory, then up to the 49th parallel. [11]
On 21 February 1899, Ferry County was created from Stevens County.[12]
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
- The 1900 Population Census is available at Family Search and Ancestry.com$ and at Heritage Quest.
- The 1910 Population Census is available at Washington State Digital Archives, FamilySearch, and Ancestry.com$ and at Heritage Quest.
- The 1920 Population Census is available at Family Search and Ancestry.com$ and at Heritage Quest.
- The 1930 Population Census is available at Family Search and Ancestry.com$.
- The 1940 Population Census is available at Family Search and Ancestry.com$.
Church Records
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Indian Reservation
The Colville Indian Reservation is located in southern Ferry and southern Okanogan counties.
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Washington State Digital Archives has digitized various types of naturalization-related records, including declarations of intentions, delayed birth files, naturalization affidavits, notifications of application for admission to US citizenship, orders fixing naturalization terms, petitions and records, petitions, receipts for certificates of citizenship, record of final decrees of citizenship and record of petitions dockets. Depending on the county, records range from 1854-1988.
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Public Records
Ferry County Board of Commissioners, Minutes, 1899-1952, 1983-2006 available online at www.digitalarchives.wa.gov.
Repositories
Courthouse
Ferry County Courthouse
350 East Delaware; PO Box 302
Republic, WA 99166
Phone: 509.775.5232
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1899. [13]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
The SCHS has the county assessor's personal property tax assessment ledgers for 1898. Images of the ledger are viewable on the Crossroads on the Columbia project.
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
- Washington Death Certificates 1907-1960 A free internet index to the 1907-1960 death certificates can be found at FamilySearch Record Search, no images are available. A transcribed death certificate may contain such information as name of the deceased, date and place of death, age, gender, birth date and birth place, mother’s maiden name and name of spouse, place of residence, occupation and certificate numbers.
Websites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Ferry County, Washington Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Northeast Washington Genealogical Society
- Stevens County Historical Society
Places
Ferry County Washington Genealogy References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 2
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 4
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 5
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 35.
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 36.
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 40.
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 9.
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 53.
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 54.
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 54.
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, pg. 87.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ferry County, Washington page 732, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 21:17.
- This page has been accessed 1,486 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

