Fillmore County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Fillmore County

Guide to Fillmore County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Fillmore County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Fillmore County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 1853, 1853
County Seat Preston
Courthouse
Address Fillmore County Courthouse
101 Fillmore Street
Preston, MN 55965
Phone: 507-765-3356
(Court Administration)
Phone: 507-765-4701


Fillmore County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Administrator has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage records from 1865, divorce and court records
from 1885and probate records from 1858.
County Recorder has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

  • 1853--Fillmore County was created 5 March 1853 from Wabasha County.  County seat: Preston [2]
  • For a brief history of how Fillmore County was named, click here.  Then select Fillmore County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Canton | Chatfield | Fountain | Harmony | Lanesboro | Mabel | Ostrander | Peterson | Preston | Rushford Village | Rushford | Spring Valley | Whalan | Wykoff

Townships

Amherst Township | Arendahl Township | Beaver Township | Bloomfield Township | Bristol Township | Canton| Township | Carimona Township | Carrolton Township | Chatfield Township | Fillmore Township | Forestville Township | Fountain Township | Harmony Township | Holt Township | Jordan Township | Newburg Township | Norway Township | Pilot Mound Township | Preble Township | Preston Township | Spring Valley Township | Sumner Township

Unincorporated

Forestville | Prosper 

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran

Bloomfield Lutheran Church, Ostrander

  • Records of Bloomfield Lutheran Church, Ostrander, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Fillmore County

  • Records of American Lutheran Church, Fillmore County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

First Lutheran Church, Whalan

  • Records of First Lutheran Church, Whalan, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Greenfield Lutheran Church, Harmony

  • Records of Greenfield Lutheran Church, Harmony, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Henrytown Lutheran Church, Canton

  • Records of the Henrytown Lutheran Church, Canton, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Highland Prairie Lutheran Church, Peterson

  • Records of Highland Prairie Lutheran Church, Peterson, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Mabel

  • Records of the Lutheran Church, Mabel, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Ostrander

  • Records of Ostrander Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Rushford

  • Records of American Lutheran Church, Rushford, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Spring Valley

  • Records of American Lutheran Church, Spring Valley, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Fillmore – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fillmore County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnfillmore.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Fillmore County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Fillmore County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Companies F and I.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Heavy Artillery, Company D.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company A.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company B.
- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K.
- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company E.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D.
- 11th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company D.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fillmore County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

  • <a _fcknotitle="true" href="Introduction to LDS Family History Centers">Introduction to LDS Family History Centers</a>

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fillmore County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:56.
  • This page has been accessed 14,923 times.