Fillmore County, Nebraska GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Fillmore County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Fillmore County, Nebraska|
Location in the state of Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
|Founded||January 26, 1856|
|Address|| Fillmore County Courthouse|
900 G Street
Geneva, Nebraska 68361-2005
Fillmore County Courthouse
900 G St.
Geneva, NE 68361
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1872and delayed birth records.
County Court has probate and court records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
County Superintendant of Schools has school census. 
1856--Fillmore County was created 26 January 1856 from unorganized territory. County seat: Geneva 
Towns in Fillmore County with, when possible, links to official town sites:
For tips on accessing Fillmore County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.
Chapter X of Johnson's History of Nebraska (1880) relates the growth and development of the state's most prevalent religious denominations: Presbyterian, Congregational, Methodist Episcopal, Episcopal, Catholic, Lutheran, Baptist, Unitarian, Christian.
The Fillmore County section of Andreas' History of the State of Nebraska (1882) gives more specific information regarding religious development in the county.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Fillmore County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fillmore County, Nebraska Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Adams - Probate records.
Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Linkpendium has a great collection of links to many sites with information regarding Fillmore County and the people who lived there (for example, an online copy of the 1891 Nebraska Gazetteer, biographies of prominent locals, land records, maps, histories, etc.).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fillmore County, Nebraska page 430, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 04:03.
- This page has been accessed 5,872 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More