Fincham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Fincham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Fincham, Norfolk
St Martin, Fincham, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clackclose
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Downham PLU
Registration District Downham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541; Separate records exist for Fincham St Michael beginning 1585
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fincham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FINCHAM (St. Michael and St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Downham, hundred of Clackclose, W. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (E. N. E.) from Downham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Downham 1837-1974

Church records

Fincham St Michael united with Fincham St Martin in 1745[2]

Fincham St Martin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
Fincham St Martin Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1541-1881
1541-1840
1541-1901
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1541-1881 Undefined 1541-1892 Undefined 1541-1901
IGI 1543-1812
JOIN
1813-1837

PALL
1790-1812

Fincham St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Fincham St Michael Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1585-1741
1585-1745
1585-1744
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1585-1741 Undefined 1585-1745 Undefined 1585-1744
PALL
1790-1812

Norfolk Record Office Fincham St Martin reference PD 351 /1-2, 5-10 combined with reference PD 351 /3-4 Fincham St Michael

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.

Poor Law Unions

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Downham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 232-235. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage,' FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014. Saint's dedication is not identified.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,230 times.