Finchley Holy Trinity, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Finchley Holy Trinity, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Finchley Holy Trinity, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Barnet PLU
Registration District Barnet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1872
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Holy Trinity Church Lane, Finchley was a district church erected to ease the population burden at St Mary's Church End. Thischapel lies within thecivil parish boundaries of St Mary's and began to function in the year 1846.[1]

At... [the]] East End [of Finchley]] is a church dedicated to the Trinity, the first stone of which was laid by...in October, 1845; it has a bell-turret surmounted by a spire rising eighty feet above the ground¹.

Holy Trinity is a vicarage, in the diocese of -London-value of the rectory, £417;* of the vicarage, £150.* Patron of both, [St Mary's, the ancient parish, and H. Trinity, who is] the Bishop of London. The parish church is Norman. Holy Trinity church was built in 1846².

1. Samuel A. Lewis, [1]A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 235-238.

2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burials from 1849 to 1965 are indexed in Greater London Burials (£)[2]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438779.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Finchley on Genuki

References

  1. Samuel A. LewisA Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 235-238. Adapted. Date accessed: 4 December 2013.
  2. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 October 2014, at 15:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,806 times.