Finding an Irish Ancestor Using English RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

Notes on Immigration

The Irish emigration to England was quite easy. The ports in Ireland are not far from English ports. Trade was quite common between Ireland and England. Liverpool was a magnate for the Irish. Work was available in England. Many English had property in Ireland. The Church of Ireland is the same religion as the Church of England. The British Military enlisted Irish. As a result, the Irish did settle in England. Since Ireland was part of the British Isles, it is difficult to trace the leaving of Irish emigrants to England through any passenger lists. It was easy to get on a ship and leave for England and not be traced.

Difficulties for Irish to leave for England.  The Irish did not like the English by how they were treated after the English came in and took their land.

Families who were Catholic may show up in Catholic records in England. Families with Irish Surnames can show up in many different types of records. See records below.

How to Use This Page

This page is designed to help you find information quickly. Links have been put in at the beginning of each source to help you find more indepth information. These links will help you gain an understanding of the record type. On this page, the other information listed in these sources can help you locate information quickly and guide you to websites or where information can be found. The internet is becoming a great resource and help to to those pursuing genealogical research and Irish emigrants. The wiki and these sources should be a useful guide.

British Military

For more indepth information on British Military for Ireland, try our wiki under England Military Records.

Many Irish have joined the Military and this Military covers many branches.

British Army, Royal Air Force, Royal Marines, Royal Navy

Records of hospitals: Chelsea, Greenwich, Kilmainham

Online records 

The National Archives in England is where the British Military Records are located.  They can be looked at and copied at their office at Kew, Surrey, England.  Their website also contains an index to many of their British Military Records and some can be downloaded for a fee through their catalog.  TNA catalog  The Class Reference WO stands for War Office and can be put into the catalog under Department or Series Code.  This will separate out the British Military records from the other records.

Findmypast.co.uk has the following indexes for British Military: findmypast

Soldiers Died in the Great War 1914-1919
National Roll of the Great War 1914-1918

De Ruvigny's Roll of Honour 1914-1918
Royal Naval Division 1914-1919

Army Roll of Honour 1939-1945
Armed forces births 1761-1994
Armed forces marriages 1818-1994
Armed forces deaths 1796-1994

Waterloo Medal Roll 1815

Other army lists/roll calls 1656-1888

Ancestry.co.uk has the following: Ancestry

Babergh Hundred Military Survey of 1522
British and German Deserters, Dischargees, and POW's Who May Have Remained in Canada and the USA, 1774-1783. Part One and Two
British Army WWI Medal Rolls Index Cards, 1914-1920
British Army WWI Pension Records 1914-1920
British Army WWI Service Records, 1914-1920
British Commonwealth War Graves Registers, 1914-1918
British Naval Biographical Dictionary, 1849
Charterhouse Register 1872-1910
Commissioned Sea Officers of the Royal Navy, 1660-1815
England, The National Roll of the Great War, 1914-1918
Great Britain Army War List, January 1893
Great Britain, Royal Naval Division Casualties of The Great War, 1914-1924
Indian Army Quarterly List for 1 January 1912
UK, Army Roll of Honour, 1939-1945
UK, British Army Prisoners of War, 1939-1945
UK, De Ruvigny's Roll of Honour, 1914-1924
UK, Soldiers Died in the Great War, 1914-1919
WWII United News Newsreels, 1942-1946

Books on the British Military: Try this link In Search of the Fornlorn Hope

Census

The census records can show Irish by listing their birthplace. All the census records from 1841-1911 will show a birthplace of Ireland or a specific place in Ireland that the person was born.

For more indepth information on Census for England, try our wiki under England Census

The census of England is available online from 1841-1901 at these websites:

Find My Past.co.uk/

The Genealogist.co.uk

Ancestry Institution.com

The census of England is available online for 1911 at this websites:
Find My Past.co.uk

The census of England is available online for 1841, 1861 and 1871 at this website:

British Origins.com

The census of England is available online for 1841 and 1861 at this website:

FamilySearch

Family History Library

The Family History Library has the census of 1841-1901 on microfilm and for freeaccess of the above websites with many indexes of the census 1841-1901.  The Library also has some pre-1841 census records for England that will have Irish listed. look at www.familysearch.org at the FamilySearch Catalog

Church Records

For more indepth information on Church Records for England, try our wiki under England Church Records

Church records are plentiful in England 1538-present.  1538 is when parish registers of the Church of England were required to be kept on parchment and the records in most parishes still exist.  Other religions are known as Non-Conformists and good records have been kept. Since the higher percentage of the population of Irish were Catholic, the church records of the Catholic Church must be highly considered.   The church records for all religions can encompass Births, Baptisms, Confirmations, Marriages, Deaths, Burials, Monumental Inscriptions, Minutes from meetings, business records, tithing, rates, payments, attendance, members, church histories.  Our listing here is to direct to Births, Baptisms, Marriages, Deaths, and Burials under each religion shown.

How do you find the records and access them?

Online

Record Office, Repository or Library

Original Church

Civil Registration

For more indepth information on Civil Registration for England, try our wiki under civil registration

Civil registration for England and Wales in available is some way in an index form from 1 July 1837 to the present.

Civil registration is the recording of birth, marriage and deaths in a certificate form.

Certificates can be obtained from:

Gro.gov.uk

The cost is seven pounds or more depending on how quickly and if you have a reference to the certificate.

Indexes to the certificates can be viewed in many ways:

Free online index produced by volunteers is:

Freebmd.org.uk   This index is incomplete has over 230 million records

Other indexes for pay include

Ancestry.co.uk  This index is very complete and offers better coverage of indexes.  Easy quick searches for larger periods of time.

Find My Past.co.uk  This index is complete.  This index is lacking in larger period of time searches.  Takes longer to search, but can be done.

The Genealogist.co.uk  The index is complete, but must be searched quarter by quarter for each year of interest.

Occupation

Occupations and finding work was necessary for the Irish to survive or have a better way of life.  Many Irish came to England looking for work.  The following link provides information on [England Occupational Records]

Probate

The wiki for England has been provided with links to probate records for each county.  Search under the county and the probate records and this will lead to indexes and probate records of wills, administrations, act books, etc. This link takes you to the England page that show a map of all the counties of England. For probate click on the county of interest and then click on probate records. England [England probate records]]


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:47.
  • This page has been accessed 3,535 times.