Fingest, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Fingest, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fingest, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Desborough
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Wycombe PLU
Registration District Wycombe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1607; Separate registers exist for Lane End beginning 1832 and also for Cadmore End beginning 1786
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Lane End beginning 1851 and also for Cadmore End beginning 1817
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wycombe
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FINGEST, or FINGHURST (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Wycombe, hundred of Desborough, county of Buckingham, 6 miles (N. N. E.) from Henley-on-Thames.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fingest, Buckinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Fingest, Buckinghamshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1601-1812

FREG
1607-1812

JOIN
1607-1812

OFHS 1607-1841
1607-1836
1607-1841

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241216.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Fingest on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 235-238 Date accessed and adapted 6 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
  4. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 January 2014.
  5. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2014, at 14:57.
  • This page has been accessed 668 times.