FinlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Finland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Finland page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Finnish records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. Please visit the Contributor Help page to learn more about using the site. The Finland Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!
Records of births, marriages, and deaths are commonly referred to as vital records because they refer to critical events in a person’s life. Civil registration is the vital records made by the government. Vital records of Finland have traditionally been kept by the church.
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
|Ahvenanmaa||Åland||1918 - 2009|
|Häme||Tavastland||1831 - 1997|
|Keski-Suomi||Mellersta-Finland||1960 - 1997|
|Kuopio||Kuopio||1776 - 1997|
|Kymi||Kymmene||1947 - 1997|
|Lappi||Lappland||1938 - 2009|
|Mikkeli||St. Michel||1831 - 1997|
|Oulu||Uleåborg||1634 - 2009|
|Pohjois-Karjala||Norra-Karelen||1960 - 1997|
|Turku-Pori||Åbo och Björneborg||1634 - 1997|
|Uusimaa||Nyland||1831 - 1997|
|Vaasa||Vasa||1776 - 1997|
|Viipuri||Viborg||1634 - 1947|
3. Finland Letter Writing Guide Wiki article
4. Finnish Genealogical Word List Wiki article
6. HisKi project in English (church records searchable online)
7. Hiski Project Suomeksi (church records searchable online)
8. Hiski Project på Svenska (church records searchable online)
16. http://digi.narc.fi/digi/search.ka (Digital Archives of Finland - online church record for Finland)
17. http://evl.fi/EVLKuvailutiedot.nsf/Yhteystietolista?ReadForm&StartKey=Kaikki&type=1&lang=FI (contact information for each parish church to obtain information not listed in the online church records)
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 03:03.
- This page has been accessed 31,480 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page