Finningley, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Finningley, Nottinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Finningley, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Contents

Part of this parish is in Yorkshire. See also Finningley, Yorkshire.

Parish History

Finningley, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw; Doncaster Soke
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Doncaster PLU
Registration District Doncaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

FINNINGLEY (St. Oswald), a parish, in the union of Doncaster, partly in the Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, and partly in the soke of Doncaster, W. riding of York, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Bawtry with the townships of Aukley and Blaxton. In the village is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Finningley is an Ancient Parish, mostly in Nottinghamshire and partly in Yorkshire.

Other places in the parish include: Blaxton, Acomb, Ninescores, God's Cross, and Frog Hall.

Wesleyan Methodist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Finningley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Finningley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
FINNINGLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undisclosed
Undisclosed
Undisclosed
FS
1789-1846


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Finningley

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Finningley in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Finningley/index.html

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2015, at 01:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,355 times.