Finnish Genealogical Word ListEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Finland

Finnish is related to Estonian and distantly related to Hungarian. It is not related to other European languages. The official languages of Finland are Finnish and Swedish. Until the end of the 1800s, records were kept in Swedish. For help reading those records, see the Swedish Genealogical Word List. Some Latin phrases also appear in older Finnish parish registers. For help, use the Latin Genealogical Word List.

This list contains Finnish words with their English translations. The words included here are those that you are likely to find in genealogical sources. If the word you are looking for is not on this list, please consult a Finnish-English dictionary (see the "Additional Resources" section at the bottom of this page).

If you would like to learn more about the language characteristics see the article Finnish Language Characteristics.

Contents

Alphabetical Order

Written Finnish uses three letters in addition to the twenty-six letters used in the English alphabet: ä, ö, and for Swedish names, å. Finnish dictionaries and indexes, this word list, and the Locality Search of the FamilySearch CatalogLook this term up in the glossary. all use the following alphabetical order:

a   b   c   d   e   f   g   h   i   j   k   l   m   n   o   p   q   r   s   t   u   v   w   x   y   z   å   ä  ö

The letters v and w are frequently alphabetized as the same letter.


Key Words

To find and use specific types of Finnish records, you will need to know some key words in Finnish. This section gives key genealogical terms in English and the Finnish words with the same or similar meanings.

For example, in the first column you will find the English word marriages. In the second column you will find Finnish words with meanings such as marry, marriage, wedding, wedlock, unite, legitimate, joined,and other words used in Finnish records to indicate marriage.

English Finnish
Banns kuulutetut
baptism kastetut, kaste-, ristimä-
births syntyneet, synty-
burials haudatut, hauta-, hauda-
child lapsi
christenings see baptism
confirmations rippilapset, ripille päässeet
deaths kuolleet, kuoli-
father isä
husband mies, aviomies
marriages vihityt, vihki-, naim-, avio-
month kuukausi, kuu
mother äiti
name (given name) nimi, etunimi, kastenimi, ristimänimi
name (surname) (suku)nimi
parents vanhemmat parishs seurakunta, kunta
wife vaimo, aviovaimo year vuosi, vuoden, vuonna

General Word List

This general word list includes words commonly seen in genealogical sources. Numbers, months, and days of the week are listed both here and in separate sections that follow this list.

In this list, optional versions of Finnish words or variable endings are given in parentheses. Parentheses in the English column clarify the meaning.

A
aamu morning
aamulla in the morning
aamupäivä forenoon
aateli(nen) noble
aatelisto nobility
aatto eve
aika time, date
aikainen early, (a.m.)
aikaisempi earlier
aikakauskirja periodical
aikanaan in due time
aina always
ainoa only
aivokuume encephalitis, inflammation of the brain
aivotärähdys concussion
ajaja coachman
ajomies coachman
ala, ali low(er), under
alaikäinen minor, underaged
alla under
allekirjoittanut undersigned
alue region, district
alus ship
ammatti profession, occupation
annettu given
anoppi mother-in-law
appi father-in-law
appivanhemmat parents-in-law
apteekkari pharmacist, druggist
arkisto archive
arkistoluettelo archive list
arvo title, rank, status
asema station, class, standing
asevelvollinen conscript soldier
asiakirja document, record
asua live, reside
asuinpaikka place of residence
asukas inhabitant, resident, lodger
asunto residence
asutuksen yleisluettelo general register of inhabitants
a.u. illegitimate
aukko gap (missing records)
autio uninhabited
avioero divorce
avioliiton ulkopuolella illegitimate, out of wedlock
avioliitto marriage
avioliittoasiakirjat marriage documents
aviomies husband
avionrikkoja adulterer
aviopari married couple
aviopuoliso spouse
avioton unmarried, illegitimate
aviovaimo wife

D
deltiseppä tinner, tinsmith

E
edellinen former, preceding, previous
edellämainittu above mentioned
edesmennyt deceased (adjective)
edessä in front of
Eesti Estonia
eestilänen Estonian
ehkä perhaps
ehtoo evening, eve
ei no, not
ei koskaan never
eilen yesterday
eimitään nothing
ei vielä not yet
ekäkkeellä oleva pensioned, retired
eli lived, or
elokuu August
eloonjäänyt surviving, survivor
elossa alive
eläke pension
eläkeläinen pensioned person
elämäkerta biography
elää to live, living, alive
ennen before
eno uncle (maternal)
ensimmäinen first
ent. (entinen) former, previous
erikoistuomioistuimia special court records
erilainen various
ero(nnut) divorce(d)
erotettu (kirkosta) excommunicated (from the church)
esi-isä ancestor
esikoinen firstborn
esivanhemmat ancestors
esteettömyystodistukset certificates attesting freedom from liability
esteetön free of liability, unhindered (to travel, marry, etc.)
etelä south
että that
etunimi given name

F
folio page

H
hakemisto register, index
hallitus government, administration
halvaus stroke, paralysis
hampaiden puhkeaminen teething
harjoittelija apprentice
hattumaakari hatmaker
hatuntekijä hatmaker
hauda(ta) (-ttu) bury, buried
hauraus weakness of old age
hauta grave
hautajaiset funeral
hautaus(toimitus) funeral
hautausmaa cemetery
he they
heidän their, theirs
heikkous weakness (of old age)
heimo tribe, clan, family
heinäkuu July
helmikuu February
hengenahdistus shortness of breath
henkikirja tax list, census
henkikirjoitus census
henkilö person
henkilöhakemisto name index
henkilötiedot personal data
herra Mr., sir
Herran ehtoollinen communion
herrasväki gentry, Mr. and Mrs.
herttua duke
herttuakunta duchy
herttuatar duchess
heti right away, immediately
hiippakunta diocese
hinkuyskä whooping cough
historia history
historiakirjat births, marriages, and deaths
holhokki minor person under legal guardianship
holhooja guardian
holhous guardianship
hopeaseppä silversmith
hovioikeus court of appeals
huatajaiset burial
huhtikuu April
hukkunut drowned, lost
huomautuksia remarks
huomautus remark
huomenna tomorrow
huonekalupuuseppä cabinetmaker, furniture maker
huora whore
husaari light cavalryman
huutolainen pauper receiving his sustenance from the parish
huutolaislapsi pauper child receiving his sustenance from the parish
hyvä good
hän he, she
hänen his, her, hers
hätäkaste emergency baptism
hääpäivä wedding day, date
häät

I
ikä age
ikäkirjat church census
illalla in the evening
ilman without
ilmoittaa to declare
ilta evening
iltapäivä afternoon
iltapäivällä in the afternoon
inventaario inventory
irtolainen vagabond
iso large, big, great
iso-iso-isä great-grandfather
iso-iso-äiti great-grandmother
isoisä grandfather
isorokko smallpox
isovanhemmat grandparents
isoäiti grandmother
isä father
isänisä grandfather (paternal)
isäntä proprietor, host, landlord, farmer
isänäiti grandmother (paternal)
isäpuoli stepfather
isätön fatherless
itse self
itsellinen tenant farmer
itä east
iäkäs aged

J
ja and
jalkavaimo concubine
jalkaväki infantry
johto administration, leadership
joka which, who, every
jokainen each, every
jokavuotuinen annual
joki river
joskus [1890] luvulla sometime in the [1890s]
josta from which
joten thus
joulu Christmas
joulukuu December
julistettu (kuolleeksi) declared (dead)
juomanpanija brewer
juoppous intoxication
jälkeen after
jälkeenjäänyt surviving, survivor, retarded
jälkeläinen descendant
jälkimmäinen latter, last
jalkinekorjaaja shoemaker
järvi lake
jäsen(enä) (as a) member
jäänyt left, remaining

K
k. (kuollut) dead
kaatumatauti epilepsy
kado(ta) (-nnut) lose, lost
kahdeksan eight
kahdeksantoista eighteen
kahdeksas eighth
kahdeksastoista eighteenth
kahdeskymmenes twentieth
kahdeskymmenes-ensimmäinen twenty-first
kahdeskymmenes-kahdeksas twenty-eighth
kahdeskymmenes-kolmas twenty-third
kahdeskymmenes-kuudes twenty-sixth
kahdeskymmenes-neljäs twenty-fourth
kahdeskymmenes-seitemäs twenty-seventh
kahdeskymmenes-toinen twenty-second
kahdeskymmenes-viides twenty-fifth
kahdeskymmenes-yhdeksäs twenty-ninth
kahdestoista twelfth
kaikki all
kaima namesake
kaivos mine
kaivostyöläinen miner
kaksi two
kaksikymmentä twenty
kaksikymmentä-kahdeksan twenty-eight
kaksikymmentä-kaksi twenty-two
kaksikymmentä-kolme twenty-three
kaksikymmentä-kuusi twenty-six
kaksikymmentä-neljä twenty-four
kaksikymmentä-seitsemän twenty-seven
kaksikymmentä-viisi twenty-five
kaksikymmentä-yhdeksän twenty-nine
kaksikymmentä-yksi twenty-one
kaksitoista twelve
kakso(nen) (-set) twin(s)
kaksoiskappale duplicate record
kalastaja fisherman
kallio hill
kalustoluettelo inventory
kankuri weaver
kansa people
kansalainen citizen
Kansallisarkisto state archives
kansallisuus nationality
kanssa with
kantaisä male progenitor
kantaäiti female progenitor
kantoluettelot tax assessment rolls
kappalainen assistant minister
kappeli chapel
kara(ta) (-nnut) to run away
karjakko milkmaid
karjapaimen herdsman
karkuri runaway, fugitive, deserter
kartano manorial estate
kartta map
kastamaton unbaptized
kaste christening, baptism
kastekirja record of baptisms
kastenimi given name
kastettu(t) baptized, (births)
kasvain tumor
kasvatti(lapsi) foster child
kasvattivanhemmat foster parents
katselmuspöytäkirjat visitations
katu street
kauppala country town
kauppias shopkeeper, merchant
kaupunki city, town
kautta via
keisari emperor, czar
keisarillinen imperial
kelloseppä watchmaker
keltatauti jaundice
kerjäläinen beggar
kerta times
keskellä in the middle
keskenmeno miscarriage
keskipäivä noon, midday
keskiviikko Wednesday
keskiyö midnight
keskonen prematurely born child
kesä summer
kesäkuu June
keuhkotauti consumption, tuberculosis
kevät spring
kieli language, tongue
kihlakunnanoikeus rural district court
kihlakunta rural civil district
kihlattu engaged, betrothed
kihlaus engagement
kihlkeuhkotulehdus pneumonia
kihti gout
kilometri kilometer
kinkeriasiakirjat catechetical meeting records
kinkerit catechetical meeting, household examination
kirja book, register
kirjaaja register
kirjannitoja bookbinder
kirjanpitäjä bookkeeper
kirjasto library
kirje(et) letter(s)
kirjeenkantaja mailman
kirjekirjat correspondence, letters
kirjuri clerk, scribe
kirkko church
kirkkoherra minister, priest
kirkkoherranvirasto office of the parish minister
kirkon asiakirjat records regarding the church building
kirkonkirja parish register
kirvesmies carpenter
kisälli journeyman
kohtaus seizures, illness
kolera cholera
kolmas third
kolmaskymmenes thirtieth
kolmaskymmenes-ensimmäinen thirty-first
kolmastoista thirteenth
kolme three
kolmekymmentä thirty
kolmekymmentä-yksi thirty-one
kolmetoista thirteen
kolmoset triplets
koneenkäyttäjä machinist
korkea high
korkea ikä old (high) age
korkein oikeus supreme court
kortisto card index
kortteli block
koska when, because of
kot(i) (-ona) (at) home
kotimaa homeland, native land
kotipaikka residence
kotirouva housewife
koulu school
kouluasiakirjat school documents
kouristus convulsions, cramps
kramppi cramps, convulsions
kreikkalaiskatolinen (Eastern) Orthodox
kreivi count (earl)
krenatööri infantryman, grenadier
kristinoppi (knowledge of) Christian doctrine
kruunu crown, state, government
kuin as
kuinka how
kuka who
kulkuri vagabond
kulkutauti epidemic
kultaseppä goldsmith
kuluva current
kummi(t) sponsor(s), godmother, godfather
kun(ta) (-nat) parish(es), commune(s)
kuningas king
kuningaskunta kingdom
kuningatar queen
kuninkaallinen royal
kunniallinen honest
kunta municipality
kuolema death
kuoli died
kuoli ilman perillisiä died without issue
kuolinilmoitus obituary
kuolinpesä death estate
kuolinsyy cause of death
kuolintoclistus death certificate
kuolleena syntynyt stillborn
kuolleet deaths, death records
kuollut dead, died
kuppa syphilis
kurkkumätä diphtheria
kuski coachman
kuten as
kutsu(a) (-ttu) call(ed)
kuudes sixth
kuudestoista sixteenth
kuukausi month
kuulustelu examination
kuulutetut banns, marriage intentions
kuume fever
kuuro(mykkä) deaf (and dumb)
kuusi six
kuusitoista sixteen
kylä village
kymmenen ten
kymmenes tenth
käly sister-in-law
käräjäkunta primary rural judicial district, assize division
käräjät local court, assizes
käsikirja manual
käsityöläinen artisan
kätilö midwife
käytös conduct
kääntymys conversion
köyhä poor
köyhäinhoitoasiakirjat poor relief records
köyhäintalo poorhouse
köyhien luettelot poor relief records

L
laakso valley
laamanni(n)oikeus lower court of appeal
lahja gift, donation
lahjoitus donations
laillinen legal, legitimate
laiskanlukijat list of slow readers
laiva boat
laki law
lamp. (lampuoti) tenant farmer
lanko brother-in-law
lap(si) (-set) child(ren)
lapsenlapsi grandchild
lapseton childless
lapsihalvaus polio
lasinleikkaaja glass cutter, glazier
lastenkirjat preconfirmation roll
lastenkoti orphanage
Latvia Latvia
Latvialainen Latvian
lauantai Saturday
lautamies juror
lavantauti typhoid fever
leipuri baker
leski widow, widower
levyseppä sheet metal worker
Liettua Lithuania
liettualainen Lithuanian
linna castle, jail
lki. (leski) widow, widower
loinen dependent lodger
lois. dependent lodger
lokakuu October
luettelo list, index, directory
lukkari cantor, parish clerk
luku number
lukutaito ability to read, literacy
lunastus fee
luona at
luonnollinen kuolema natural death
luostari monastery
lupa permission
luterilainen Lutheran
luumätä caries
lähellä near
lähtenyt departed
länsi west
läpi through
läsnä present
läsnäolo presence
lääkäri physician
lääni county
lääninhallitus county government
löytölapsi foundling

M
maa land, country, earth
maakirja land record
maakunta province
maakunta-arkisto provincial archives
maalaiskunta rural parish near a city
maalari painter
maaliskuu March
maanantai Monday
maanjako-oikeuden asiakirjat documents of parcelling of land
maanmittari surveyor
maanviljelijä farmer
maasta muuttanut emigrated
maattu nainen woman who has had illicit relations
maine(todistus) (certificate of) character
mainittu said, stated
maistraatti city administration, magistrate
majatalo inn
makkarantekijä sausage maker
maksatauti liver disease
manttaali assessment unit of land
manttaaliluettelo tax list, census
marraskuu November
matruusi sailor
me we
meidan our, ours
mekaanikko machinist
mennyt(aika) the past
meri sea
merimies sailor
merkintä entry, remark
merkitty entered, noted
mestari master, expert
metsä forest
metsänhoitaja forester
metsästäjä hunter
miehistö crew
mies man, husband
miespuolinen male
miilunpolttaja charcoal burner
miksi why
mikä what, which
miniä daughter-in-law
minun my, mine
minuutti minute
minä I
missä where
mitätön minor, insignificant
m.n. (maattu nainen) woman who has had illicit relations
molemmat both
molempien belonging to both
monenlainen various
morsiain bride, fiancée
morsiuspari bridal couple
muistiinpano record, note, entry
mummo grandmother
muonamies farmworker receiving wages in commodities
murha(ttu) murder(ed)
mutta but
muurari mason, bricklayer
muut asiakirjat miscellaneous documents
muutt(i) (-anut) moved
muuttaneet moving record
muuttokirja certificate of moving
mylly mill
mylläri miller
myrkytys poisoning
myöhäinen late (p.m.)
myös(kin) also
mäkitupalainen cottager
mökki cottage

N
naapuri neighbor
nahkuri tanner
naida to marry
naimaton single, unmarried
naimattomana unmarried (at the given time)
naimisissa married
nainen woman
naispuolinen female
neiti Miss
neitsyt virgin
neljä four
neljäs fourth
neljästoista fourteenth
neljätoista fourteen
nikkari carpenter
nimi name
nimismies rural police chief
noin approximately
Norja Norway
norjalainen Norwegian
notariaatti notary
numero number
nuo those
nuohooja chimney sweeper
nuorempi (the) younger
nuori(n) young(est)
nuorimies youth, unmarried man, bachelor
nuoripiika maid, unmarried woman
nuoripoika youth, unmarried man, bachelor
nuorukainen young man
nykyinen present, current
nälkä hunger

O
oikea right (direction)
oikeus right, court
oli was
olivat were
olla to be
olosuhteet circumstances
oluenpanija brewer
oma own (adjective)
omaa sukua maiden name, née
omainen relative
omaisuus property
omistaa to have, to own
omistaja owner
on is
opettaja teacher
opiskelija student (at university)
oppilas student (grades 1 to 12), apprentice
orpo orphan
ortodoksi orthodox
o.s. (omaa sukua) maiden name, née
osa volume, part
osoitehakemisto directory
ote extract
ottolapsi adopted child
ottovanhemmat adoptive parents
ovat are

P
paikka(kunta) place, locality
paikkakuntahakemisto gazetteer
paitatehtailija shirt maker, shirt manufacturer
pakolainen refugee, fugitive
palo fire
palvelija servant
palvelu(s) service
papintodistus official certificate of birth, marriage, or death
pappi clergyman, priest
pappila rectory, parsonage
pappilan asiakirjat records of the parsonage
pastori pastor
pastorinkanslia office of the parish minister
peltiseppä tinner, tinsmith
penkkijärjestys pew lists
perhe family
perhehistoria family history
perheluettelo family register
perikunta the heirs
perillinen heir
perinnönjako distribution of an inheritance
perintö inheritance
perintötila family (or inherited) estate
perjantai Friday
peru(n)kirjat private inventories of the deceased\'s property
perunjakokirjat private inventories of the deceased\'s property
perunkirjoitus estate inventory, probate
pieni little, small
piika maid, unmarried woman
pikkulapsi infant
pikkuserkku second cousin
pitäjä(läinen) parish(ioner)
pitäjänkokousten pöytäkirjat minutes of parochial meetings
pohjoi(s-) (-nen) north
poika boy, son
poikamies bachelor
pois away
poismennyt deceased (adjective)
pojan poika grandson, son\'s son
pojan tytär granddaughter, son\'s daughter
polveutua descend from
pormestari mayor
porvari burgher, tradesman, middle class citizen
posteljooni mailman
preussilainen Prussian
prinsessa princess
prinssi prince
protestantti protestant
punainen red
punatauti dysentery
puolalainen Polish (of Poland)
puolenpäivän aikaan at noon
-puoli (ending) step, half
puoliso spouse
pursimies boatswain
puuseppä carpenter, joiner
puutarhuri gardener
pyhä holy, sacred, saint
pyhäkoululapset list of Sunday School children
päin toward
päivä(nä) day
päivämäärä date
päivätyöläinen day laborer
pääkirja communion book
pääsiäinen Easter
pöytäkirja minutes

R
raastu(pa) (-vanoikeus) city court
raatihuone town hall
raatimies council man, municipal judge
raha(määrä) money (sum of)
rahvas people, peasantry
raja border
rakastajatar concubine
rakennusmestari contractor, builder
rakuuna light cavalryman
rampa crippled
raskaana pregnant
ratsumestari cavalry captain
ratsumies cavalryman
ratsutilallinen holder of farm obliged to furnish a cavalryman
ratsuväki cavalry (men)
rautaseppä iron smith
rautatie railroad
rehellinen honest
rekisteri register, index
renki youth, unmarried man, farmhand
rikollinen criminal
rikos(luettelo) misdemeanor (list)
ripitysluettelo absolution list
rippikirja communion book
rippilapset confirmations
ripuli diarrhea
risti(ä) (-itty) baptize(d)
ristimäaika baptism date
ristimänimi Christian name, first name
ritari knight
rokko (small) pox
rokotetut vaccinations
rouva Mrs., wife
rovasti(kunta) dean(ery)
ruhtinaskunta principality
rulla record, roll
rumpali drummer
ruokamyrkytys food poisoning
ruotsalainen Swede, Swedish
Ruotsi Sweden
ruotu district maintaining a foot soldier
ruotusotilas foot soldier
ruotuvaivainen pauper, dependent on the \"ruotu\"
rusthollari holder of farm obliged to furnish a cavalryman
rutto plague
ruukki foundry, mill, industry
ruumis corpse
rykmentti regiment
rälssi tax exempt, nobility
rälssitila tax exempt farm
räätäli tailor

S
s. (syntynyt) born
saapuneet arrived, moved in
saapuneet asiakirjat correspondence, letters
saapunut arrived
saha sawmill
sairas sick (person)
sairaus sickness
sakkoluettelot lists of fines
saksalainen German
sama same
sanakirja dictionary
sanomalehti newspaper
sanottu said, stated
satulantekijä saddle maker
savenvalaja potter
se it
seitsemän seven
seitsemäntoista seventeen
seitsemäs seventh
seitsemästoista seventeenth
sekä and, also
sen its
seppä smith
seppä blacksmith
serkku cousin
setä uncle (paternal)
seura society (genealogical)
seuraava next
seurakunta parish
seutu region, vicinity
siellä there
siirtolainen emigrant, immigrant
siirtolaisrekisteri emigration records
siirtolaisuus immigration
siirtolaisuus emigration
sikotauti mumps
sikäläinen of that place
silta bridge
sinun your, yours (singular)
sinä you (singular)
sisar sister
sisarenpoika nephew, sister\'s son
sisarentytär niece, sister\'s daughter
sisarpuoli half-sister, stepsister
sisarukset siblings
sisko sister
sisäinen inside
sisällysluettelo register, index
sisältö contents
siviilirekisteri civil registration
sivu page
sokea blind
sokeritauti diabetes
sorvari turner
sota war
sotamies soldier
sotaväki troops, army
sotilas soldier, military
suku family
sukua(olla) related
sukukirjat lineage books
sukulainen relative
sukulaisuus relationship
sukunimi surname
sukupolvi generation
sukupuoli sex
sukupuolitauti venereal disease
sukupuu family tree, pedigree
sukuselvitys report of family relationships
sukutaulu genealogical table
sukutiede genealogy
sukututkimus genealogical research
sukututkimusseura genealogical society
sulhanen bridegroom, fiancé
sunnuntai Sunday
suomalainen Finnish
Suomi Finland
suorittaa perform
suostumus consent
suuri big, great
suutari shoemaker
sydänvika heart trouble
syksy autumn
sylilapsi baby, infant
synnytys childbirth
syntymä birth
syntymäaika date of birth
syntymäpaikka place of birth
syntymätodistus birth certificate
syntyneet births, birth records
syntynyt born, maiden surname
syyskuu September
syytinki allowance, person receiving allowance
syöpä cancer
säteri tax exempt estate
sääty (läinen) station, class, standing (person of)

T
tahtoa to want
tai or
taiteilija artist
takana behind
talo house
talollinen farmer
talonpoika peasant farmer
talous household
talousapulainen housemaid
talvi winter
tammikuu January
tap(po) (-ettu) murder(ed)
tapaturma accident
tarkastuspöytäkirjat visitations
taulu(kko) table, chart
tauti disease
te you (plural)
tehdas factory
teidan your, yours (plural)
testamentti will, testament
teurastaja butcher
tie road
tiedottaja informant
tiilentekijä brickmaker
tiistai Tuesday
tila house, farm
tilallinen farm owner
tilikirjat record of accounts
titattomat landless population
todistaja witness
todistus certificate, evidence
toimeentulo livelihood
toimi occupation
toimittaa perform
toinen other, second
toisella nimellä alias, a.k.a.
-ton (ending) without, not
tontti parcel
tori market
torppari crofter, tenant farmer
torstai Thursday
toukokuu May
tsaari czar
tuhkarokko measles
tulehdus inflammation
tulipalo fire
tulirokko scarlet fever
tulli customs
tullut (+ -sta or -lta) came (from)
tuntematon unknown
tunti hour
tuomari judge
tuomio judgment
tuomioistuin court
tuomiokirkko cathedral
tuomiokunta judicial district
tupa cottage, house
turvotus swelling, edema
tynnyrintekijä cooper, barrel maker
tyttären poika grandson, daughter\'s son
tyttären tytär granddaughter, daughter\'s daughter
tyttö girl, daughter
tytär daughter
työläinen laborer
työmies laborer
työntekijä laborer
täkäläinen of this place
tällä paikkakunnalla in this place
tämä this
tämä paikka this place
tänään today
täti aunt
täysi-ikäinen of legal age
täällä here

U
ukko old man
ulko outer
ulkoluku reciting from memory
ulkomaalainen foreign, strange
ummetus constipation
usein often
uskonto religious affiliation
uudisasukas settler
uusi new

V
v. (vihitty) married
vaakuna coat of arms
vaakunaoppi heraldry
vaari grandfather
vahtimestari caretaker
vaimo wife, married women
vainaja deceased, (the) late
vaivainen poor, sickly
vaivaisrahat poor relief accounts
vaivaisruodut poor relief records
vaivaistalo poorhouse
vajaamielinen mentally defective
vakituinen permanent, regular
valokuvaaja photographer
valtakunta state, empire
valtio state
Valtionarkisto state archives
valuri foundry worker
vanha old
vanhapoika bachelor
vanhemmat parents
vanhempi (the) older
vanhin oldest, elder
vanhus old person
vanhuus old age
vanki prisoner
vankila prison
vapaa free
vapaaherra(tar) baron(ess)
vapaasääty nobility
varas thief
varkaus theft
varrella by, at side
varten for the purpose of
vartia warden
vasen left (direction)
vaskiseppä coppersmith
vastaanotettu received
vastanainut newlywed
vastasyntynyt newborn
vasten against
vatsatauti stomach disease
vauva baby
vauva(na) (as an) infant
veli brother
velipuoli half-brother
veljenpoika nephew, brother\'s son
veljentytär niece, brother\'s daughter
velka debt
Venäjä Russia
venäläinen Russian
verensyöksy hemorrhage
verenvuoto hemorrhage
veritulppa blood clot
vero tax
verotus taxation
vesipöhö dropsy, edema
vesirokko chicken pox
vielä still
vieras(seurakuntalainen) guest, person not of a given parish
vierasseurakuntalaisten historiakirjat registers of members of other parishes
vihityt marriages, marriage records
vihkiminen marriage (ceremony)
vihkimäsopimus marriage contract
vihkimätodistus marriage certificate
vihreä green
viides fifth
viidestoista fifteenth
viikko week
viime last, past
viisi five
viisitoista fifteen
virasta eronnut retired
virasto office, department
virka office, position, occupation
virkaa tekevä officiating, deputy
virkamies public official
virkatodistus official certificate (of birth, marriage, or death)
Viro Estonia
virolainen Estonian
vouti bailiff, overseer (historical governor)
v.t. (virkaa tekevä) officiating, deputy
vuoden ikäinen years of age
vuokralainen lodger
vuori mountain
vuorokausi twenty-four hours
vuosi year
vuosi(päiva) (-juhla) anniversary
vuosikymmen decade, decennial
vuosisata century
vuosittain(en) yearly
vuotias years old
väestö(rekisteri) population (registry)
väestönlaskenta census
väki people, folk, crew, forces
väliaikainen temporary
välillä between
välittömästi immediately, direct
värjääja dyer
vävy son-in-law

Y
yhdeksän nine
yhdeksäntoista nineteen
yhdeksäs ninth
yhdeksästoista nineteenth
yhdestoista eleventh
yhteinen together, belonging to both
yhteiskunta community
yksi one
yksitoista eleven
yleinen general, common
yli, ylä over, upper, ended
ylkä bridegroom
ylä upper
ympärillä around
yskä cough (noun)
ystävä friend
night

Ä
äidinisä grandfather (maternal)
äidinäiti grandmother (maternal)
äiditön motherless
äiti mother
äitipuoli stepmother
äpärä illegitimate child


Months

Tammikuu     January

Helmikuu      February

Maaliskuu     March

Huhtikuu       April

Toukokuu      May

Kesäkuu       June

Heinäkuu      July

Elokuu         August

Syyskuu      September

Lokakuu      October

Marraskuu   November

Joulukuu      December

Additional Resources

This word list includes only the words most commonly found in genealogical sources. For more help, use a Finnish-English dictionary. Several such dictionaries are available at the Family History LibraryLook this term up in the glossary. in the Scandinavia collection. Their call numbers begin with 494.541321. The following dictionary is also available on microfilmLook this term up in the glossary. for use in Family History CentersLook this term up in the glossary.:

Alanne, V. S. Suomalais-englantilainen suursanakirja [Great Finnish-English Dictionary]. 3rd ed. Porvoo: Werner Söderström Osakeyhtiö, 1968. (FHL film 1224706 item 3.)

Additional dictionaries are listed in the Subject Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under FINNISH LANGUAGE - DICTIONARIES or in the Locality Search under FINLAND - LANGUAGE AND LANGUAGES - DICTIONARIES.


References

Family History Department. Genealogical Word List: Finnish. by the Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Salt Lake City, 1997


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:18.
  • This page has been accessed 5,295 times.