Flathead County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Montana
Flathead County
Guide to Flathead County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Flathead County, Montana | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Montana in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 6, 1893 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Kalispell |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Flathead County Courthouse 800 S Main Street Kalispell, MT 59901 Phone: 406.758.5526 Flathead County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 6 February 1893 from Missoula
- County seat: Kalispell [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Glacier | Lake | Lewis and Clark | Lincoln | Missoula | Pondera | Powell | Sanders | Teton
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
- See an interactive map of Flathead County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)
Migration
Military
Newspapers
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Kalispell newspapers. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk and Recorder has birth and death records from 1882, land records from 1884 and burial records from 1893; Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce and court records from 1893[2]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- Western States Marriage Index includes marriages 1889-1904
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Montana, Flathead County Records, 1871-1947 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Places
| Bigfork | Hungry Horse | Niarada | West Glacier |
| Columbia Falls | Kalispell | Polebridge | |
| Coram | Lakeside | Somers | |
| Evergreen | Martin City | Whitefish | |
Indian Reservation
A small part of the Flathead Indian Reservation is in Flathead County. The major part of the reservation is in Lake County. Other small portions are also in Missoula and Sanders Counties.
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 16:48.
- This page has been accessed 1,642 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
