Flawborough, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Flawborough, Nottinghamshire
Flawborough St Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg
Flawborough St Peter Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union East Retford PLU
Registration District East Retford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


FLAWBOROUGH, a chapelry, partly in the parish of Orston, N. division of the wapentake of Bingham, and partly in that of Staunton, S. division of the wapentake of Newark, union of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 8 miles (S. by W.) from Newark. The chapel is subject to the rectory of Staunton. [1]

Additional information:

Flawborough St Peter which dates from 1841 was formed as a chapelry in Staunton, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish, replacing an older church on the site.

For history of the church and parish see Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project

The parish church of St Peter was rebuilt in 1841 and restored in 1892. It has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Flawborough, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FLAWBOROUGH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1680-1812

Staunton Chapel

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1663-1814 Marriages 1663-1802 Burials 1663-1842 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1812
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Flawborough

Flawborough Churchyard.  A transcription of the Memorial inscriptions in Flawborough Churchyard, dating from 1717, giving surname, given name, date of death and age.  Original copy held at the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/9, and the transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, page7, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n,

also a further listing for Flawborough St Peter's, dated from 1707, in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 69, pages 51-52 Family History Library Ref942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Flawborough in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Flawborough/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 19:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,344 times.