Flevoland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Flevoland, The Netherlands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
You can find the Geographical and Historical information on Flevoland here: Flevoland
A little bit more about its origin here: Zuider Zee
The capital city of Flevoland is Lelystad, see: Lelystad
Getting started with Flevoland research
Flevoland is the youngest province of the Netherlands and consists almost entirely of land reclaimed from the sea. It borders on Friesland and Overijssel in the east, Gelderland and Utrecht in the south, Noord-Holland and the IJsselmeer in the west and the IJsselmeer in the north.
Jurisdictions in this locality, ie, "States," "Counties," etc.
The capital city of Flevoland is Lelystad. Other larger towns are:
Genealogical Research in Flevoland
Even though this province is very new indeed, it doesn't mean that there is no research possible, see Trace your Roots in Flevoland
There is also a lot of history to be found on this web-site and that alone is already very interesting.
- (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
- (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)
Did you know?
On 1 January 1986 the Netherlands officially added, after more than one hundred years, a new province: Flevoland, with Lelystad as the capital. The crowning of the immense project to drain large parts of the IJsselmeer. After the Noordoostpolder and Eastern Flevoland, Southern Flevoland also dried up in 1968. The three polders all belong to the new province. The Romans gave the name Flevo to the inland sea that, after the Afsluitdijk was build, is now the IJsselmeer.
Emigration from Flevoland
Flevoland doesn’t have a long history, so it doesn’t have a long history of emigration either. When the dike turned the sea into a lake, many fishermen around the new IJsselmeer lost their jobs. Many of them left the region to find a new life. Quite a few went to Twente and the neighboring German area where there was plenty of work to be found in the textiles factories.
Things you can do
(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
However, please do not change the lay-out of the pages you would like to work on as considerable thought went into what has already been entered. But we love to have your help as mentioned above.)
- This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 23:18.
- This page has been accessed 1,067 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News