Flintham, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Flintham, Nottinghamshire
Flintham St Augustine Nottinghamshire.jpg
Flintham St Augustine Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

FLINTHAM (St. Augustine), a parish, in the union and N. division of the wapentake of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 6½ miles (S. W.) from Newark. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Additional information:

Flintham is an Ancient parish .

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have not yet researched the history of this church and parish Unresearched parishes

The church of St Augustine of Canterbury originated in the 12th century and had two restorations in 1828 and 1896 and has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Flintham Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Flintham, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FLINTHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1629-1812

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Flintham

Transcription of Memorial Inscriptions  by Mr and Mrs G,. Peters 1992. Flintham - St Augustine's. Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1713 onwards. Gives an alphabetical listing, surname, given name, date of death and age.  Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society vol. 97, pages 35-40, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Flintham.  A transcription of memorial inscriptions at Flintham, giving surname, given name, date of death and age, dated from 1772.  The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/10, and the transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, pages 8-9,  FHL Ref 942.52 D25n  A listing of later memorial inscriptions dated from 1937, vol. 69 pages 8-9, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Peters, Doreen.  Flintham Stray Marriages. Residents of Flintham who were married in other Nottinghamshire Parishes, dated from 1588-1835, gives given name, surname and bride's given name and surname, place, where she lives, Parish where they were married.  These marriages were extracted from the Nottinghamshire Phillimore vol. 1-20. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine vol.115, pages 47-56. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Flintham in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Flintham/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 19:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,151 times.