Flixton, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
FLIXTON St Michael, a parish, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire; containing, with the township of Urmston, 2230 inhabitants, of whom 1459 are in the township of Flixton, 7 miles west by southwest from Manchester.
There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]
Flixton has been recorded as Fluxton, Flaxtown, Flyxton, Flyxeton, and Flixtone, amongst other spellings. It has been suggested that Flixton derives its name from "Fleecetown" because of its 14th-century connection with the woollen industry. Flixton first appears in historical records in 1177 however, making that toponymy seem unlikely. The name is more probably of Scandinavian origin, perhaps deriving from the Viking called Flikke or Flikkr who is credited with bringing Christianity to the area. The Anglo-Saxon ton means dwelling place, hence Flikke's ton.
Flixton St Michaels Church (Church of England) which has existed since at least 1150 AD.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Church records
Online Records
The parish of Flixton (with parish registers commencing in the year 1570) has much online data which is now accessible to view and not only for its own parish registers but for many of its attached chapelries as well. These parish and chapel registers are now available for the following chapels and range of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| FLIXTON PARISH (1570) Indexes | |||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1570-1833 | 1570-1935 | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1845-1894 | 1837-1916 | None | ||||||||
| AC | None | None | None | ||||||||
|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes | |||||||||||
|
|
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||||||||
| FS | 1573-1872 | 1573-1889 | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1573-1616;1777-1837 | 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs | 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1881 | 1837-1946 | 1837-1881 | ||||||||
| AC | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | ||||||||
Parish registers for Flixton, 1570-1954:
Microfilm copy of original registers filmed and formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England. Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M148/1/23/1-4, M148/1/24/1-5.
FamilySearch has microfilmed these parish registers as well, as follows:
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1570-1752. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357361 Items 5 - 6 |
| Baptisms, burials, 1752-1787; marriages, 1752-1754. Baptisms, burials, 1787-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1931. Marriages, 1754-1793. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357390 |
| Marriages, 1793-May 1951. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357391 |
| Marriages, May 1951-1952. Burials, 1813-1886. Banns, 1825-1915, 1940-1954. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357392 Items 1 - 10 |
The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk
The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
Flixton- St Michael
Banns-1825-1915- MFPR 2096
Banns-1950-1954- MFPR 2096
Baptisms-1571-1752- MFPR 838
Baptisms-1752-1812- MFPR 838 or MFPR 2094
Baptisms-1813-1845- MFPR 839 or MFPR 2094
Baptisms-1845-1930- MFPR 2094
Baptisms-1930-1990- Archives L141
Baptisms Transcript-1571-1730- 929.342731 FL(391)
Baptisms Transcript-1571-1812- MFPR 398
Baptisms Transcript-1731-1812- 929.342731 FL(391)
Burials-1570-1752- MFPR 838
Burials-1752-1812- MFPR 838 or MFPR 2094
Burials-1813-1839- MFPR 839 or MFPR 2096
Burials-1839-1873- MFPR 2096
Burials-1873-1886- MFPR 2096 (draft register)
Burials Transcript-1570-1730- 929.342731 FL(391)
Burials Transcript-1570-1812- MFPR 398
Burials Transcript-1731-1812- 929.342731 FL(391)
Marriage Index-1754-1812- F929.3272 Be1
Marriages-1570-1752- MFPR 838
Marriages1752-1754- MFPR 838 or MFPR 2094
Marriages-1754-1793- MFPR 839 or MFPR 2094 or MFPR 2095
Marriages-1793-1837- MFPR 839 or MFPR 2095
Marriages-1837-1951- MFPR 2095
Marriages-1951-1952- MFPR 2096
Marriages-1952-1993- Archives L141
Marriages Transcript-1570-1730- 929.342731 FL(391)
Marriages Transcript-1570-1654- MFPR 398
Marriages Transcript-1655-1812- MFPR 399
Marriages Transcript-1731-1812- 929.342731 FL(391)
Bishop's transcripts for Flixton, 1606-1847 Microreproduction of original manuscripts filmed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/109-110b
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1606-1641, 1670-1708, 1721-1770 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545555 Items 5 - 6 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1796-1847 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545556 Items 1-3 |
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306927. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Barton upon Irwell Lancashire Poor Law Union
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 244-248. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50966 Adapted. Date accessed: 30 June 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 January 2013, at 05:55.
- This page has been accessed 520 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
