Flockton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Flockton

Guide to Flockton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Flockton, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Wakefield PLU
Registration District Wakefield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1779
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FLOCKTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Thornhill, union of Wakefield, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 7 miles (S. W. by W.) from Wakefield. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Flockton, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
IARC = Archive.org
FLOCKTON CHAPELRY (1713) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1718-1719 1718-1719 1718-1719 1718-1719 1718-1719 1718-1719
FREG 1713-1819 1713-1812
FS 1713-1872

1855-1909

1807-1930

IARC 1717-1812

None

1717-1812

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Thornhill to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the THORNHILL PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464241.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 244-248. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,641 times.