Florida CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to U.S. Census go to Florida go to Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Florida indexes and images

1880-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Florida 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
partial 1945 State indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
images Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - - - - - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
partial 1935 State indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
images Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
1930 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1885 Federal indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
images Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1825-1875

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Florida 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
partial 1875 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1867 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
partial 1866 State indexes - - Tran-
script
- - - - - - -
images - - Tran-
script
- - - - - - -
partial 1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1840 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1830 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1825 Territorial
indexes - - Tran-
script
- - - - - - -
images - - Tran-
script
- - - - - - -
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex 1870            
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex 1850


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 Soundex T1262 1870 M593 1840 M704
1930 T626 1900 T623 Soundex T1039 1860 M653 1830 M19
1920 T625 Soundex M1556 1880 T9 Soundex T743 1850 M432


Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Florida, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Florida

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1885 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1860 Slave owner - - - Link[8] Link Link Link
1860 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1850 Slave owner Link - - Link[8] Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1840 Pensioners Link BookLink BookLink - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Family History Library Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Florida

  • 1880 census schedule 5, persons who died during year until 31st May, and schedule 7-8 manufactural records. FHL Collection Film 1550797
  • 1860 census schedule 3, persons who died during year until 1st June, schedule 4 agriculture production of 15 southern states and schedule 5 production of industry. FHL Collection Film 1550796


National Archives Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Florida

  • 1850 - 1880 Agriculture census: Alachua - Washington counties
  • 1850 - 1880 Manufacturing census: Alachua - Washington counties
  • 1935 Census of Business
Schedules of Banking and Financial Institutions
Schedules of Miscellaneous Enterprises
Schedules of Motor Trucking for Hire
Schedules of Public Warehousing
Schedules of Radio Broadcasting

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Florida, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

Censuses were taken in Florida in different years than the federal censuses. These censuses may have different data compared to federal censuses. Check these censuses for more information on a family.

  • 1945 Missing precincts: Alachua 18; Bay 8, 9, 12; Citrus 13; DeSoto 6, 7; Gadsden 2; Highlands 8; Liberty 3; Orange 1-11; Palm Beach 27, 29, 34; Polk 34; Seminole 15; Volusia 14; Washington 18.[9]
  • 1935 Missing precincts: Alachua 4, 5, 18, 21; Baker 6; Bradford 1; Citrus 13; DeSoto 6-7; Duval 14A, 36; Flagler 2, 6; Lee 20; Levy 12; Liberty 5; Martin 7; Nassau 4; Orange 1-10; Palm Beach 9; Polk 19, 23, 34; St. Johns 19; Sarasota 5; all of Walton.[9]
  • 1895 State census.[9] Manatee[10] and Nassau[11] counties are published.
  • 1885 Alachua, Clay, Columbia, and Nassau missing[9][12]
  • 1884-1885 Franklin County[13]
  • 1875 Alachua County only[9][14]
  • 1867-1868 Levi County only[9][15]
  • 1867 Fragments of Franklin, Hernando, Madison, Orange, and Santa Rosa counties only remain[9]
  • 1866 Franklin County, families with children only[9][16][17]
  • 1856 Putnam County, families with children only[18]
  • 1855 Gadsden, Marion, and Franklin counties only[9][19]
  • 1825 Leon County only[9][20]
  • 1820 Spanish Escambia River,[21] and Pensacola[21][22]
  • 1814 Spanish outside St. Augustine[23]
  • 1813 Spanish St. Augustine, St. John's, and Fernandina[23]
  • 1793 Spanish St. Augustine and North River[23]
  • 1787 Spanish East Florida[23]
  • 1786 Spanish St. Augustine and perimeter[23][[|]]
  • 1784-1785 Spanish St. Augustine[24]
  • 1784 Spanish Pensacola[21]

An excellent resource for Florida state censuses is:

  • Rhodes, Karen Packard. Non-federal Census of Florida, 1784-1945: A Guide to Sources. Jefferson, North Carolina: McFarland & Co., 2010. (FHL 975.9 X23r)

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Florida censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. 8.0 8.1 HeritageQuest has slave owner schedule images only.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 9.5 9.6 9.7 9.8 9.9 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 30-32.
  10. Mabel Schneider, Extractions from Manatee County Censuses of 1860, 1870, 1880, 1885, 1895 (Bradenton, Fla.: Manasota Genealogical Society, 1985)[FHL Book 975.962 X28s 1860-1895].
  11. Jacksonville Genealogical Society, 1895 State Census, Nassau County, Florida (Jacksonville, Fla.: Jacksonville Genealogical Society, 1976)[FHL Book 975.911 X2j].
  12. Florida, Secretary of State, Schedules of the Florida State Census of 1885, National Archives Microfilm Publications: M0845 (Washington, D.C.: National Archives, 1970)[FHL Film 88962-74]. Also available online at http://pilot.familysearch.org/recordsearch/start.html#p=waypoint;s=waypointsOnly;c=1457854;w=0
  13. Rose Marie Lovett, Census of Apalachicola, Franklin Co., Florida, 1884-1885, (Typescript, 1884-1885, microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, Salt Lake City, 1976)[FHL Film 988192 Item 3].
  14. Florida, Secretary of State, Census Book for 1875 Alachua County, Florida (Microfilm of original records filmed at State Capitol, Tallahassee, Florida; Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1956)[FHL Film 006962].
  15. G. S. Leavitt, "Levy County, Florida Census Records, 1867-1868" (Typescript, 1965. Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974)[FHL Book 975.9 A1 no. 153; Film 928527 Item 1].
  16. "1866 Census, Franklin County, Florida" in USGenWeb at http://files.usgwarchives.net/fl/franklin/census/1866.txt (accessed 25 January 2010).
  17. "Franklin County Children ages 5-18 in 1866" Florida Armchair Researcher 1, no. 2 (Spring 1984): 7-8. Only a parent's name is listed together with the number of children in the household.
  18. "School Children Ages 5 to 18 in Putnam County, 1856" Putnam County Genealogical Society Quarterly Journal New Series 1, no. 2 (Fall 1996): 31-32. Only a parent's name is listed together with the number of children in the household.
  19. "Marion County in the 1855 State Census" Florida Armchair Researcher 1, no. 3 (Summer 1984): 24-35, and 1, no. 4 (Fall 1984): 30-40.
  20. Dorothy Dodd, "The Florida Census of 1825," Florida Historical Quarterly, 22 (1943): 34-40.
  21. 21.0 21.1 21.2 William S. Coker, Polly Coker, and G. Douglas Inglis, Spanish Censuses of Pensacola, 1784-1820: a Genealogical Guide to Spanish Pensacola (Pensacola, Fla.: Perdido Bay Press, 1980)[FHL Book 975.999/P1 X2c].
  22. "Spanish of Pensacola, 1820," Florida Historical Quarterly, 24 (1945): 30-38.
  23. 23.0 23.1 23.2 23.3 23.4 Donna Rachal Mills, Florida's First Families: Translated Abstracts of Pre-1821 Spanish Censuses (Tuscaloosa, Ala.: Mills Historical Press, 1992)[FHL Book 975.9 X2f].
  24. Lawrence H. Feldman, Last Days of British Saint Augustine, 1784-1785: a Spanish Census of the English Colony of East Florida ([Baltimore, Md.]: Clearfield Co., 1998)[FHL Book 975.918/S1 X2f].



Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 December 2014, at 14:18.
  • This page has been accessed 25,350 times.