Florida DirectoriesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png U.S. Directories Gotoarrow.png Florida Gotoarrow.png Directories
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful records for locating people. They were often published annually, listing heads of households, employed household members, and their occupations and addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.

Directories are particularly helpful for research in large cities where a high percentage of the people were renters, new arrivals, or temporary residents. In fact, a directory may be the only source that lists a person if he was not registered to vote and did not own property. Most households were included because the directories were created for salesmen, merchants, and others interested in contacting residents of an area.

Directories have other clues that may require careful study to discover. For example, people in similar or related occupations were often relatives, in-laws, or friends. A year-by-year study of directories may reveal the movements of ancestors and relatives within the city and sometimes to or from other cities.

Examples of directories that may be found in an archive are: city directories, telephone directories, church directories, occupational directories, farmers directories, or rosters of society members.

Directories of heads of households have been published for major cities in Florida.

Contents

Resources for Florida Directories

Libraries and Archives

The Florida Historical Society and the Florida State University have various Florida city directories. Local libraries often have city directories for their areas. See PublicLibraries.com for a list of contact information for these libraries and other college libraries.

Directories Online

Ancestry.com ($) has Florida directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.

The Family History Library

The Family History Library has city directories for several cities. For example:

Miami
1904-1935. The Family History Library has a set of microfilms with Miami City directories 1904-1935 (beginning on Family History Library film 1759897).

1936-1970. The Family History Library has directories for Miami for the years:

1936
1941
1942
1953-1954
1966
1970

Jacksonville

The library has directories for Jacksonville covering the years 1931, 1941, 1946, 1950, 1953 and 1971 Family History Library books 975.912/J1 E4p.

Bibliography

  • US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 July 2012, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 4,380 times.