Floyd County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Floyd County

Guide to Floyd County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Floyd County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Floyd County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 3, 1892
County Seat Roma
Courthouse
Address Floyd County Courthouse
3 Government Plaza
Roma, GA 30161
Phone: 706.291.5190
Floyd County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Floyd County Courthouse
3 Government Plaza
Roma, GA 30161
Phone: 706.291.5190

Probate Court has marriage and probate records. Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning Dates for Floyd County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

Parent County

1832--Floyd County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee Indian Lands.
County seat: Rome [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bartow County  • Chattooga County  • Cherokee County  • Gordon County  • Polk County

Floyd CountyPolk CountyHaralson CountyPaulding CountyCobb CountyFulton CountyCherokee CountyBartow CountyGordon CountyPickens CountyGilmer CountyMurray CountyWhitfield CountyWalker CountyDade CountyChattooga CountyCherokee CountyJackson CountyDeKalb CountyEtowah CountyCalhoun CountyCleburne CountyGAFloyd.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Episcopal

St. Peter's Church, Rome

Baptism

  • 1843-1940 - St. Peter's Church, Rome, Baptism Index 1843-1940. Batch C712841 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Marriage

  • 1848-1940 - St. Peter's Church, Rome, Marriage Index 1848-1940. Batch M712841 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Burial

  • 1849-1940 - St. Peter's Church, Rome, Burial Index 1849-1940. Batch B393679 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Methodist Episcopal

Van's Valley Methodist Episcopal Church

  • 1873-1885 - Van's Valley Methodist Episcopal Church Baptism Index 1873-1885. Batch C712821 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1873-1895 - Van's Valley Methodist Episcopal Church Marriage Index 1873-1895. Batch M712821 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Floyd County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Battey, George Magruder, Jr. A History of Rome and Floyd County. State of Georgia - United States of America. 1540-1922. Atlanta, Ga.: Webb and Vary, 1922. Digital version at Ancestry ($). Another digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gafloyd.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Floyd County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Floyd County, Georgia:


- 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies A, E, and H
- 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies B, and D
- 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company C
- 29th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- 40th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company C
- 65th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Comapny D
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (also some "War of 1812")


  • Bartow County Genealogical Society (Ga.). 1995. Bartow County, Georgia heritage book. Cartersville, Ga: The Society. (page 12 - 8th Battalion Companies A and B from Bartow, Gordon, and Floyd counties)  FHL Collection other Library

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Floyd County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1834-1877 - Floyd County Marriage Books A and B Index 1834-1877. Batch M712832 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1876-1890 - Floyd County Marriage Books C and D Index 1876-1890. Batch M712833 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1890-1895 - Floyd County Marriage Book E Index 1890-1895. Batch M712834 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1850-1888 - Floyd County Marriage Index 1850-1888. Batch M712831 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Floyd County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Floyd County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 31-32. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 16:35.
  • This page has been accessed 13,630 times.