Floyd County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Floyd County

Guide to Floyd County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Floyd County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Floyd County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 13, 1799
County Seat Prestonburg
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Floyd County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Floyd County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1808 1852 1810 1810 1866
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Floyd County Courthouse, Prestonburg, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

Floyd County Courthouse
3rd Avenue
Prestonsburg, KY 41653
Phone: 606.886.3816[1]

Floyd County Kentucky History

Parent County

1799--Floyd County was created 13 December 1799 from Fleming, Montgomery and Mason Counties.
County seat: Prestonsburg [2]

Boundary Changes

1820 Perry County was created from Clay and Floyd counties.
1821 Pike County was created from Floyd County.
1821 Lawrence County was created from Floyd and Greenup counties
1822 Morgan County was created from Floyd and Bath Counties.
1843 Johnson County was created from Floyd, Lawrence and Morgan Counties.
1860 Magoffin County was created from Floyd, Johnson and Morgan counties.
1870 Martin County was created from Floyd, Lawrence, Johnson, and Pike counites.
1884 Knott County was created from Breathitt, Floyd, Letcher, and Perry counties.

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1808-- A disaster destroyed some records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses


Floyd County Kentucky Places / Localities

Populated Places

Allen City David Hunter Printer
Alvin Dema Ivel Pryamid
Amba Dotson Jacks Creek Risner
Arkansas Drift Justell Sloan
Auxier Dwale Lackey Stanville
Banner East McDowell Lancer Teaberry
Bays Branch Eastern Langley Thomas
Beaver Emma Ligon Tram
Beaver Junction Endicott Martin Warco
Betsy Layne Estill McDowell Watergap
Blue Moon Galveston Melvin Wayland
Blue River Garrett Midas Weeksbury
Bonanza Glo Minnie Welco Station
Brainard Goodloe New Allen West Garrett
Buckingham Grethel Northern West Prestonburg
Bull Creek Halo Orkney Wheelwright
Burton Harold Osborn Wheelwright Junction
Cliff Hi Hat Porter Junction Witaker
Colliver Hippo Prestonburg Wonder
Craynor Hite Price Woods
Dana Honaker

Neighboring Counties

Floyd County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kyfloyd.png

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies, Family Histories, Gedcom Files, Genealogies etc.

Family Files at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.
Family Gedcom Files at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.
KYGenWeb, Floyd County page

  • [Huff] Pratt, Warren C. "Finding the Father of Henry Pratt of Southeastern Kentucky," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 100, No. 2 (June 2012):85-103. Digital version at NGS website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng.
  • [Pratt] Pratt, Warren C. "Finding the Father of Henry Pratt of Southeastern Kentucky," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 100, No. 2 (June 2012):85-103. Digital version at NGS website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng.

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation. Local volunteers through Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness may take photographs of headstones found in county cemeteries.

  • Kentucky Historical Society Cemetery Search can be searched by name, place and/or date.  This database has hundreds of thousands of names transcribed from gravestones across Kentucky. 
  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
  • Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites. The first link under Online Kentucky Cemeteries goes to the Kentucky section of Interment.net
  • Floyd Co. KY USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks. 

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18103,485
18208,207135.5%
18304,347−47.0%
18406,30245.0%
18505,714−9.3%
18606,38811.8%
18707,87723.3%
188010,17629.2%
189011,25610.6%
190015,55238.2%
191018,62319.7%
192027,42747.3%
193041,94252.9%
194052,98626.3%
195053,5001.0%
196041,642−22.2%
197035,889−13.8%
198048,76435.9%
199043,586−10.6%
200042,441−2.6%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21071.txt

For tips on accessing Floyd County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Floyd County Genealoy Trails Census Data

Floyd Co., KY Census Records at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Kentucky: State Board of Elections-County Clerks has contact information on all Kentucky County Clerks. Scroll down to find desired county or use the index at the top of the page.

Kentucky Court of Justice, Floyd County has contact information for Floyd County, Kentucky Circuit Court Clerk.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Kentucky Land Warrants at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Floyd County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Floyd County, Kentucky at Wikipedia

Maps

Kentucky Digital Map Library Scroll down the page for links to early Floyd County maps.

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Floyd County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Floyd County, Kentucky:

- 1st Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate). Companies A, B, C, and D.
- 13th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company F.
- 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company A.
- Dudley's Independent Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company A.
- Fields' Company, Kentucky Partisan Rangers (Confederate), Company B.
- Fields' Company, Kentucky Partisan Rangers (Confederate), Company C.
- Fields' Company, Kentucky Partisan Rangers (Confederate), Company D.


Civil War Battles 

The following Civil War battles were fought in Floyd County. 

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Military Information at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.

Newspapers

The Floyd County Times

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Floyd County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Floyd County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Floyd County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Obituaries

Current Obituraries at The Floyd County Times

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Floyd County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Floyd County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth
  • 1852-1859 - Floyd County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517331 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1874-1875 - Floyd County Birth Index 1874-1875. Batch C517332 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1875-1876 - Floyd County Birth Index 1875-1876. Batch C517333 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriage
  • 1855-1859 - Floyd County Marriage Index 1855-1859. Batch M517331 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1875-1876 - Floyd County Marriage Index 1875-1876. Batch M517334 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1876-1878 - Floyd County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517335 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Unsorted

Floyd Births at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.
See KYGenWeb, Floyd County page for excel files of Floyd County births 1911-1920
Deaths at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.
Floyd Co. Marriages at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.
Marriage License of Floyd County Kentucky From 1808-1844

Floyd County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Floyd County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Floyd County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Floyd County, Kentucky page 270, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:21.
  • This page has been accessed 20,013 times.