Floyd County, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Floyd County
Guide to Floyd County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Floyd County, Virginia | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location in the state of Virginia | |
![]() Location of Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1831 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Floyd |
| Courthouse | |
Floyd County Virginia Courthouse
Floyd County Courthouse
100 East Main Street Room 200
Floyd, Virginia 24091
Phone: 540-745-9330
Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records from 1852-1872, marriage, divorce, probate and court and land records from 1831[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1853 | 1840 | 1853 | 1840 | 1831 | 1831 |
Floyd County Virginia History
The county was named after Virginia Governor John Floyd (1783-1837).
Parent County
1831--Floyd County was created 15 January 1831 from Montgomery and Franklin Counties.
County seat: Floyd [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
- Lost census: 1890
Floyd County Virginia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Floyd County Virginia Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Floyd County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1966):74-75. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
- Sweeney, Alice J. "Bassett Historical Center," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website.
African American
Floyd County, Virginia cohabitation records are available online.
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Bible Records
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
Cemeteries
- Talbert, Bobby. Floyd County, Virginia Burials (VAGenWeb).
- Tombstone Transcription Project Floyd County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
Census
For tips on accessing Floyd County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1840 | 4,453 | ||
| 1850 | 6,458 | 45.0% | |
| 1860 | 8,236 | 27.5% | |
| 1870 | 9,824 | 19.3% | |
| 1880 | 13,255 | 34.9% | |
| 1890 | 14,405 | 8.7% | |
| 1900 | 15,388 | 6.8% | |
| 1910 | 14,092 | −8.4% | |
| 1920 | 13,115 | −6.9% | |
| 1930 | 11,698 | −10.8% | |
| 1940 | 11,967 | 2.3% | |
| 1950 | 11,351 | −5.1% | |
| 1960 | 10,462 | −7.8% | |
| 1970 | 9,775 | −6.6% | |
| 1980 | 11,563 | 18.3% | |
| 1990 | 12,005 | 3.8% | |
| 2000 | 13,874 | 15.6% | |
1840
- Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Floyd County.]
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Church Records
Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Pine Creek. Membership lists (1795-1920) have been published: Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 2, No. 4 (Oct. 1978). FHL Book 975.5 D25v v. 1-2 (1977-1978).
Court
Genealogy
More than a dozen genealogies have been published about Floyd County families. To view a list, visit Floyd County, Virginia Genealogy.
Land and Property
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Revolutionary War
- Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. FHL Collection [Includes Floyd County pensioners.]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Floyd County on page 134.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Floyd County, p. 79. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Floyd County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Floyd County, Virginia:
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company I (1st).[3]
- - 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company A
- - 21st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G 2nd.[4]
- - 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Floyd Riflemen).[5]
- - 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F.[6]
- - 42nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Henry Volunteers), Company F (Leatherwood Fencibles), and Company G (Second Company of Volunteers).[7]
- - 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.[8]
- - 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A, B, D, H, and I.[9]
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Naturalization
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Floyd County, Virginia newspapers.
Probate Records
- 1831-1852 - Will Book I, 1831-1852, Floyd County, VA (New River Notes) - free.
Private Papers
- Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
Taxation
Vital Records
Indexes to Floyd County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Birth
Beth Fridley has published abstracts of the following Floyd County birth record online at Ancestry:
- Floyd County, Virginia Births, 1853-73 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Floyd County, Virginia Births, 1873-79 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Floyd County, Virginia Births, 1880-84 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
Marriage
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1843-1925 - Floyd County Marriage Index 1843-1925. Batch M868773 at FamilySearch - free.[10]
- Fisher, Therese A. Marriages in the New River Valley, Virginia: Montgomery, Floyd, Pulaski and Giles Counties. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1991. FHL.
Death
Floyd County, Virginia deaths are included in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society, available online - free.
- 1853-1872 - Index to Death Records Floyd County, Virginia 1853-1872 (VAGenWeb) PDF file.
- 1853-1872 - Floyd County Death Index 1853-1872. Batch B868773 at FamilySearch - free.[10]
Beth Fridley has published abstracts of the following Floyd County death records online at Ancestry:
- Floyd County, Virginia Deaths, 1853-82 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Floyd County, Virginia Deaths, 1883-96 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes
| For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Floyd County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- Bassett Historical Center, Bassett, Virginia. Website includes descriptions of collections. Excellent resource for family history research in Henry, Patrick, Floyd, Franklin and Pittsylvania counties in Virginia, the city of Martinsville, Virginia, and Rockingham, Stokes and Surry counties in North Carolina.[11]
Family History Centers
Floyd County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Floyd County, VirginiaUSGENWEB.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List
Floyd County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Floyd County, Virginia. Page 713 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
- ↑ John E. Olson, 21st Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 57.
- ↑ Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
- ↑ Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
- ↑ John Chapla, 42nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 5.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
- ↑ George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 10.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- ↑ Alice J. Sweeney, "Bassett Historical Center," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3, available online at: http://www.vgs.org
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 20:34.
- This page has been accessed 4,297 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




