Flushing, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Flushing, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Flushing, Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kerrier
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Falmouth PLU
Registration District Falmouth
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kerrier
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FLUSHING, a small sea-port, in the parish of Mylor, union of Falmouth, E. division of the hundred of Kerrier, W. division of Cornwall, ¼ of a mile (N.) from Falmouth.The Baptists Bryanites, Wesleyans, and Unitarians, have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Flushing, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Flushing, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1873-1907
1873-1907

FMP 1873-1877
FREG
1837-1907

FS PRs 1873-1907

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference:P 202

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

The Flushing section of the OPC website contains many records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241261.

Poor Law Unions

Falmouth Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Online Parish Clerk (Genealogy) Mylor and Flushing

Flushing in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 244-248 Date accessed: 13 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,388 times.