Folkestone St Mary and St Eanswythe, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Folkestone St Mary and St Eanswythe, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Folkestone St Mary and St Eanswythe, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Folkestone
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1635
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FOLKESTONE (St. Mary and St. Eanswith), a parish, in the union of Elham, hundred of Folkestone, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent; comprising the sea-port and incorporated and market town of Folkestone, which has a separate jurisdiction, the hamlet of Ford, and part of the chapelry of Sandgate. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, and Wesleyans. [1]


Folkestone is the principal town in the Shepway district of Kent and a cross Channel port. Folkestone Wikipedia

Folkestone St Mary and St Eanswythe is an Ancient Parish; Folkestone Christ Church, Kent  Holy Trinity and St Peter were formed from this parish.

A history of the church is available at Church History and an introduction to Folkestone contains further information about the religious development of the town.

The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel dates from 1866; Independent Baptist and Society of Friends Chapels were also built. The South Kent Methodist Circuit includes Folkestone St Andrew and Folkestone Methodist Church

The parish Church of St Mary and St Eanswythe has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

The parish Church of St Martin Horn Street Folkestone Cheriton Wikipedia dates from a Saxon Church on the site and has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The church of St Paul Sandgate High Street dates from 1849 British listed building See also Sandgate Wikipedia

The Church of St Peter, North Street dates from 1862-1864 has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

The Church of Holy Trinity dates from 1868-1869 designed by Ewan Christian and has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

The Church of St Saviour Canterbury Road dates from 1891-1892 and has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

The church of All Souls which dates from 1894 designed by Ewan Christian has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed Building

The Baptist Church which dates from 1873-1873 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The United Reformed Church which dates from 1897 designed by Jospeh Gardiner has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The Roman Catholic Church of Our Lady help of Christians dates from 1889 and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

St Marks Garrison Church dates from 1839-1841 and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Folkestone St Mary and St Eanswythe, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Folkestone St Mary and St Eanswythe, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1759

FMP 1754-1908; 1754-1813 (Banns) 1754-1908; 1754-1813 (Banns) 1635-1928 1635-1928
IGI 1635-1840 1635-1840

Folkestone Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Folkestone St Saviour Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1869-1930 1869-1930

Folkestone St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Folkestone St Michael Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1883-1897 1883-1897 1883-1921 1883-1921

Folkestone St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Folkestone St Michael Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1760-1873; 1882-1904 (Banns) 1760-1873; 1882-1904 (Banns) 1898-1919 1898-1919

Folkestone St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Folkestone St Peter Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1868-1921 1868-1921 1923-1935 1923-1935

Folkestone St Saviour parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Folkestone St Saviour Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1887-1910 1887-1910

Nonconformists

  • Buckland and Capel Wesleyan Church Christenings 1831-1837 Batch (C068281)
  • Mill Bay Baptist 1797-1837 (Births) Batch (C091641)
  • Zion Chapel Fenchurch Street 1779-1836 Batch (C068271)

Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Census records

FamilySearch has online census index collections and a search within the town and surrounding enumerations districts may be easier than referrring to the Family History Library collection of microfilms.

Census Returns for Folkestone 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 244-248. Date accessed: 1 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 20:06.
  • This page has been accessed 2,852 times.