Fond du Lac County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Fond du Lac County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Fond du Lac County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Fond du Lac
Courthouse
Address Fond du Lac County Courthouse
160 S Macy Street
Fond du Lac, WI 54935-4241
Phone. 920.929.3000
WI Fond du Lac.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Fond du Lac County Courthouse
160 S Macy Street
Fond du Lac, WI 54935-4241
Phone. 920.929.3000

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1847,
marriage records from 1844, death records from
1868 and land records; Clerk Court has divorce 
and court records; Probate Office has probate
records; Veterans Office has military records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Fond du Lac County was created 7 December 1836 from Brown County.  County seat: Fond du Lac [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable images to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable images to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Fond_du_Lac,_Wisconsin#City_Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Fond du Lac Townships Map  --  Mouse over 1855 to see the latest.

1867 Perspective Map of the City of Fond du Lac

1878 Map of the City of Fond du Lac

Current Parcel maps for the City of Fond du Lac

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Fond du Lac County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Fond du Lac County.

-1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies, B, C, D, E, F and I
- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company A
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company C
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies B and H
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company E

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at :

Wisconsin Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 19:32.
  • This page has been accessed 13,947 times.