Foots Cray, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngKent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Foots Cray, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Foots Cray, Kent
Foots Cray All Saints Kent.jpg
Foots Cray All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ruxley
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bromley PLU
Registration District Bromley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CRAY, FOOT'S (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Bromley, hundred of Ruxley, lathe of Sutton-atHone, W. division of Kent, 12½ miles (S. E.) from London. [1]


Foots Cray is a place in the London Borough of Bexley Foots Cray Wikipedia

Foots Cray All Saints is an Ancient Parish.

The Parish church of All Saints Rectory lane has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 135-141 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Foots Cray North West Kent Family History Society and Foots Cray All Saints

From this parish were formed

Sidcup Christ Church partly from Sidcup St John, Kent and partly from this parish Sidcup Christ Church

Sidcup, Emmanuel: Mission church, Station Rd. Built 1887-8.Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bromley Registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Foots Cray, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Foots Cray, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1855, 1898-1899
1814-1853

FS BTs 1799-1899 1799-1899 1799-1899
IGI 1799-1812 1799-1853

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Bexley Local Studies and Archive Centre is the Diocesan Record Office for all the Church of England Parishes within the London Borough of Bexley reference PA101 All Saints, Foots Cray 1608-1986

Land Tax

Images for Foots Cray available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns Foots Cray 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Bromley Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within the London Borough of Bromley, located adjacent to Orpington Station and on major bus routes through the borough.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-720. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 17:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,504 times.