Forcett, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Forcett

Guide to Forcett, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Forcett, Yorkshire
Forcett St Cuthbert Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Gilling
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Richmond PLU
Registration District Richmond
Records begin
Parish registers: 1596
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Richmond
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FORCETT, a parochial chapelry, in the union of Richmond, wapentake of Gilling-West, N. riding of York; consisting of the townships of Barforth, Carkin, Eppleby, Forcett, and Ovington; and containing 656 inhabitants, of whom 123 are in the township of Forcett, 9 miles (E. by S.) from Darlington.[1]

FORCETT, a hamlet in Richmond district, and a parish partly also in Teesdale district, and all in N. R. Yorkshire. The hamlet lies on the N border of the county, 3½ miles S of Gainford r. station, and 7 N of Richmond. The parish contains also the hamlet of Carkin, and the townships of Eppleby, Barforth, and Ovington. The church is ancient and there is a Free Methodist chapel.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Forcett exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
FORCETT PARISH (1596) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1596-1882

1606-1865

1596-1882

JOIN None

1606-1837

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Forcett to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the FORCETT PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1596.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464230.

Poor Law Unions

Richmond Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 248-250. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazeteer of England and Wales(1870-72). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,068 times.