Fordingbridge, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Fordingbridge

Guide to Fordingbridge, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fordingbridge, Hampshire
Fordingbridge Parish Church.png
Fordingbridge Parish Church
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fordingbridge
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Fordingbridge PLU
Registration District Fordingbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1642
Bishop's Transcripts: 1724
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordingbridge
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FORDINGBRIDGE (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Fordingbridge, Ringwood and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 20 miles (W. by N.) from Southampton, through Ringwood, and 92 (S. W. by W.) from London with the tythings of Bickton, Middle, North, and South Burgate, Godshill, and Midgham. There are a chapel of ease at Ibsley, and places of worship in the parish for the Society of Friends and Independents.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fordingbridge parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
FORDINGBRIDGE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1642-1738
1642-1795

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
PRTS 1781-1812
1781-1812
1781-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288800.

Genealogy

Quibell, George.  The Kenchingtons of Fordingbridge.  Article begins with Mary Kenchington marrying William Witt on 17 Oct. 1781, of this parish.  It has family history beginning with William Kenchington born 1676-1752 and his wife Elizabeth Wing 1707, and carries forward.  Other names mentioned are Hall, Collins, Austen, Wyatt, Bartlett, Kensington, Andrews, Sansome, Garrett, Ransom, Cosens, Chubb, Durdell, Pinhorne, Spickernall, Vincent, Witt. Another parish lsited in the article is Frogham. Article dates from 1543-1884, and is to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 32. part 4, March 2006, pages 273-275,  FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 250-253. Date accessed: 14 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:24.
  • This page has been accessed 2,208 times.