Forebridge, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Forebridge, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Forebridge, Staffordshire
Forebridge St Paul Stafford.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Cuttlestone
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stafford PLU
Registration District Stafford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stafford
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Forebridge is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1844 from Castle Church, Staffordshire Ancient Parish

FOREBRIDGE, with Burton, a township, in the parish of Castle-Church, E. division of the hundred of Cuttlestone, union, and S. division of the county,of Stafford, ¾ of a mile (S. E.) from Stafford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Stafford St Paul (Forebridge) formed 1844 from part of Castlechurch Ecclesiastical Parish

Forebridge parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FOREBRIDGE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1844-1876

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1844-1856 Mar 1922-200
Lichfield Record Office no holdings of Bishop's Transcripts


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Poor Law Unions

Stafford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 250-253. Date accessed: 25 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 August 2014, at 16:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,046 times.