Forest Row, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Forest Row, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Forest Row, Sussex
Forest Row Holy Trinity East Sussex.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Grinstead
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Grinstead PLU
Registration District East Grinstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: 1850
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FOREST-ROW, a hamlet, in the parish and union of East Grinsted, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 3 miles (S. E.) from East Grinsted, on the road to Lewes and Tonbridge-Wells. Achapel of ease, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected in 1835 by subscription, containing 436 sittings; it is built of stone procured in the neighbourhood, and is a neat edifice with a tower surmounted by a spire.[1]


Forest Row Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical parish which was formed originally as an 1839 chaplery built within East Grinstead, Sussex Ancient Parish and which was formed as a district in 1850 and later as a parish. Forest Row is a village and large civil parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex three miles south of East Grinstead and within Ashdown Forest. Forest Row Wikipedia

A history of  both Holy Trinity and St Dunstan Ashurst Wood is available Forest Row Sussex Parish Churches

The church of Holy Trinity Lewes Road Forest Row has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building Forest Row Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) which includes Baptist Chapel, Hartfield Road Bethesda Chapel Brambletye Chapel Cemetery Chapel Forest Chapel, Broadstone Warren Notre Dame Convent Our Lady of the Forest Catholic Church Providence Church St Richard de Wych (Ashdown Park)

See also a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see East Grinstead registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone01323 464780 Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Forest Row, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
Forest Row, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1850-1893
1850-1890

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Forest Row

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

Poor Law Unions

East Grinstead Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 250-253. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 20:29.
  • This page has been accessed 995 times.