Forncett St Peter, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Forncett St Peter, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Forncett St Peter, Norfolk
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Depwade
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Depwade PLU
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561; For more records see Forncett St Mary
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Depwade
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FORNCETT (St. Peter), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 2¾ miles (W. by N.) from Long Stratton. [1]

Also referenced as Bustard's Green or Buster's Green.[2]
Forncett St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich. Also known includes Forncett End.

A Saxon round tower church with 1850 renovation. The combined parish of Forncett includes Forncett St Mary, Norfolk 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Depwade 1837-1935
  • Forncett 1935- 1974

Church records

Forncett St Peter, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
Forncett St Peter, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1561-1901
1561-1837
1561-1898
FS ATs 1725-1808 1725-1808 1725-1808
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1561-1915 Undefined 1561-1915 Undefined 1561-1915
JOIN
1813-1837

A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content Film
Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1808 FHL BRITISH Film
1526806 Item 16

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438851.

Poor Law Unions


Depwade Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 250-253. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. "Norfolk: Towns and Parishes and Administrative Areas" GENUKI, http://www.origins.org.uk/genuki/NFK/places/
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 2,555 times.