Forrest County, MississippiEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Mississippi
Forrest County
Guide to Forrest County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents |
County Courthouse
Forrest County Courthouse
641 Main St; PO Box 951;
Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Phone: 601.545.6014
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1893 and court records from 1906.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, land, probate and military records. [1]
History
Parent County
1906--Forrest County was created 19 April 1906 from Perry County.
County seat: Hattiesburg [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Forrest County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
Church
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Hattiesburg
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Forrest County, Mississippi (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information see Mississippi Taxation.
Vital Records
- 1892-1917 - Forrest County Marriage Books 1-6A Index 1892-1917 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1900-1920s - Forrest County, Mississippi Marriages. Courtesy: Melba's Southern Families - free.
- 1921-1925 - Forrest County, Mississippi Marriage Index. Arranged by: Brides | Grooms. Courtesy: MSGenWeb - free.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Forrest County Genealogy (Mississippi Genealogy)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Forest County, Mississippi page 379, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.
| This Mississippi-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 May 2013, at 21:43.
- This page has been accessed 1,295 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More