Forsyth County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Forsyth County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Forsyth County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Forsyth County Courthouse
102 W 3rd Street
P O Box 20639
Winston Salem, NC 27101
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1849
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Forsyth County Cemeteries - via the NCGenWeb Archives
- Forsyth County Cemeteries - via Cemetery Census
- Forsyth County Cemeteries - listed at FindAGrave.com
For tips on accessing Forsyth County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Fraternity Church of the Brethren, near Clemmons, N.C. Established about 1775. Previously located in Surry and Stokes counties.
- Nazareth Church aka Old Dutch Meeting House. Organized about 1778 by German settlers. Formerly located in Surry and Stokes counties.
- Deeds: 1849-1965 -- can be searched online on the Forsyth County Register of Deeds website.
- Forsyth County Maps - via the NC Maps project
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -2nd Battalion, North Carolina Infantry
- - 2nd Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company G
:- 4th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company B
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Eli E Holland's Company
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain George F Fisher's Company
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company B
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- Forsyth county newspapers - a listing of newspapers published in the county & libraries that hold them; via the Library of Congress
- Forsyth County residents in the newspaper - name listing of people from the county as located in misc. newspaper articles; time span varies. Articles indexed in the NC People in the Papers database.
- 1842-1932 - Will Books (1842-1932) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- North Carolina Births and Christenings, 1866-1964 - search this name index to birth, baptism and christening records from the state; via FamilySearch
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1849-1929 - Forsyth County Marriage Index 1849-1929 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Forsyth County Marriages - on the NCGenWeb Archives
- North Carolina Marriages, 1762-1979 - search this database of marriages from across the state - images included; via FamilySearch
- Forsyth County marriages - may be included throughout Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
- 1741 - 2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1969North Carolina County Marriages 1762-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- Forsyth county deaths - list of county area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
- Misc. Obituaries - on the NCGenWeb Archives site
- North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - search a statewide collection of freely available death certificates - images are included; via FamilySearch
- North Carolina Deaths & Burials, 1898-1994 - search death records from across the state; via FamilySearch
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Wake Forest University: 1903-2008
- Wake Forest University School of Medicine Yearbooks: 1943-2011
- Salem College: 1902-1983
- Forsyth County students at North Carolina colleges - a list alphabetized by surname from the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
- Forsyth County Genealogical Society
- Forsyth County Historical Society
- Forsyth County Public Library (NC Room)
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Forsyth County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Forsyth County - part of the USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Forsyth County, North Carolina. Page 508 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ "Fraternity Church of the Brethren," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "Nazareth Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "Friedberg Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 13 April 2015, at 16:07.
- This page has been accessed 11,110 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More