Fort Apache Indian Agency (Arizona)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indian Research Gotoarrow.png Indians of Arizona Gotoarrow.png Fort Apache Indian Agency (Arizona)

 

The Fort Apache Agency is the administrative office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs for the Fort Apache Indian Reservation in eastern Arizona. Its supervising office is the Phoenix Area Office.

Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Apache

History

The White Mountain Reservation was established in 1872, with the northern part under the Camp Apache Agency and the southern part under the San Carlos Agency. The latter took control of both divisions in 1875, but in 1897, the reservation was divided and the Fort Apache Agency was established for the White Mountain Apaches.[1]

Records

Some of the agency records are in the Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Laguna Niguel, California[2]. Their holdings include census records, Indian police records, court records, and other records for 1875 through 1952.Some later fiscal records of the agency are in the Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Denver, for the years 1946 through 1967.

Reports of Inspection of the Field Jurisdictions of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-1900 have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of Microcopy Number M1070. The reports for Fort Apache Agency, 1893-1899, are on roll 12 of that Microcopy set[3]. Copies are available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll number 1617685).

The 1900 federal census included population schedules for the Fort Apache Reservation. The census includes the non-Indian employees of the Fort Apache Agency, as well as many pages of Indian Population Schedules for the native population of the Reservation. They are recorded as District 77, Fort Apache Indian Reservation, in Apache County, Arizona, as District 77, Fort Apache Indian Reservation, in Gila County, Arizona, and as District 77, Fort Apache Reservation, in Navajo County, Arizona.

Microfilm copies of  ...Narrative and Statistical Reports... for the Fort Apache Agency, 1907-1938, are included in National Archives Microcopy M1011, Rolls 43-44[4], available in the National Archives system and in the collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, beginning with their microfilm numbers 1724261-1724262.

Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1898 thru 1939. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 118 thru 125[5]. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 576473-576480). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.

Records Available Through the Family History Library

Census Records 1904-1942. FHL film: 1249787 items 3-16

School Records, 1937, 1950-1951. FHL film: 1249787 items 1-2

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, p. 158.
  2. Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
  3. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1070, p. 48.
  4. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1011, p. 27.
  5. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M595, p. 51.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
  • "Accompanying Pamphlet for Microcopy 1011", National Archives Microfilm Publications, Appendix.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 January 2011, at 17:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,019 times.