Fort Bidwell Indian Agency (California)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indian Research Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Fort Bidwell Indian Agency (California)


Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Paiute, Pit River and Digger 

History

The Fort Bidwell Agency was established in 1898 as an Indian school. It soon was assigned agency duties for the Pit River and Paiute Indians of Modoc County, California. The school was closed in 1930 and the agency responsibilities were transferred to the Sacramento Agency in 1931.[1] Fort Bidwell continued to operate as a subagency to Sacramento until at least 1940.

Records

Many records of Fort Bidwell Agency have been transferred to the Pacific Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in San Francisco.[2][3] These agency records include many administrative files which have few references to individual Indians. However, the following records identified by Archives records inventories, may have great value to the family historian:

  • Pupil register, 1908-1930
  • School census records, 1913-1930
  • Tribal census records, 1910-1929
  • Allotment records

Microfilm copies of ...Narrative and Statistical Reports... for the Fort Bidwell Agency, 1907-1931, are included in National Archives Microcopy M1011, Roll 48[4], available in the National Archives system and in the collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, beginning with their microfilm number 1724266.

Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1915-1930. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, roll 137[5]. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm number 576492). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.

Census Records 1910-1911,1913-1929, and school census 1913-1930. FHL film: 976966 and 976967

Census Records 1915-1930. FHL film: 576492

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, p. 159.
  2. Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
  3. Guide to Archival Holdings at NARA's Pacific Region (San Francisco) -- Record Group 75. Available online.
  4. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1011, p. 27.
  5. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M595, p. 51.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Marquette University. Guide to Catholic-Related Records in the Midwest about Native Americans.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 January 2011, at 17:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,204 times.