Fort Lapwai Indian Agency (Idaho)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indian Research Gotoarrow.png Indians of Idaho Gotoarrow.png Fort Lapwai Indian Agency (Idaho)


Guide to Fort Lapwai Indian Agency (Idaho) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Nez Perce

History

The Fort Lapwai Agency was a continuance of the older Nez Perce Agency and was given the name when the Superintendent of the Fort Lapwai Indian School was assigned the duties of Indian agent in 1902. It operated under that name until 1933, when it was combined with the Coeur d'Alene Agency[1].

Records

Agencies and subagencies were created as administrative offices of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and its predecessors. Their purpose was (and is) to manage Indian affairs with the tribes, to enforce policies, and to assist in maintaining the peace. The names and location of these agencies may have changed, but their purpose remained basically the same. Many of the records of genealogical value (for the tribe and tribal members) were created by and maintained by the agencies.

Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency from 1902 thru 1933. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 145-148[2]. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 576834-576837). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, pp. 171-172.
  2. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998. Microcopy M595, p. 51.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 March 2015, at 18:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,821 times.