Foston on the Wolds, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Foston on the Wolds, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Foston on the Wolds, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Driffield PLU|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Provost of the Collegiate Church of St John, Beverley|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
FOSTON-upon-the-Wolds (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Driffield, wapentake of Dickering, E. riding of York; containing the townships of Brigham, Gembling, and Great Kelk, 6½ miles (E. S. E.) from Driffield. Church of England records began in 1563. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.
FOSTON-ON-THE-WOLDS, a township, a parish. and a sub-district in Driffield district, E. R. Yorkshire, The township lies on a headstream of the river Hull, 3½ miles S of Lowthorpe railway station, and 5 ESE of Great Driffield. The parish contains also the townships of Brigham, Gembling, and Great Kelk. There are chapels for Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Foston on the Wolds exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|FOSTON ON THE WOLDS PARISH (1720) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Foston on the Wolds to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the FOSTON ON THE WOLDS PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464217.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
- This page has been accessed 2,285 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More