Foulsham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Foulsham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Foulsham, Norfolk
Holy Innocents, Foulsham, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eynsford
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FOULSHAM (Holy Innocents), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of Eynsford, E. division of Norfolk, 18 miles (N. W.) from Norwich. The Baptists have a place of worship. [1]


Foulsham Holy Innocents is an Ancient Parish in the Sparham deanery of the Diocese of Norwich .

The village's name derives from 'sham,' or home, and 'foul,' from the bird. Foulsham has an entry in the Domesday Book of 1085. In the great book Foulsham is recorded by the name Folsam and Folsham it is said to be in the ownership of the King before and after 1066 and Walter Gifford from the king and in the custody of Godric The survey also notes two churches, a mill, twelve cattle, four hundred pigs, fifty Goats and 13 sesters of Honey.

The village gave its name to a family of Puritan dissidents who fled England for the town of Hingham, Massachusetts, (and later Exeter, New Hampshire) and whose spelling of the name was slightly changed to Folsom. Today these American descendants of Foulsham have given rise to Folsom, California, Folsom Street in San Francisco, Folsom Prison - all named for California pioneer and New Hampshire native Joseph Libbey Folsom - as well as General Nathaniel Folsom, who represented New Hampshire in the Continental Congress.

Foulsham is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. The Village is 19.6 miles (31.5 km) miles west south west of Cromer, 17.7 miles (28.5 km)miles north west of Norwich and 119 miles (192 km) miles north east of London. For the purposes of local government the civil parish it is within the Broadland District.

Resources


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

  • Mitford 1837-1938
  • East Dereham 1939-1974

Church records

Foulsham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Foulsham, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1901
1558-1901
1558-1901
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1687, 1713-1901 Undefined 1558-1687, 1713-1901 Undefined 1558-1687, 1703-1901
JOIN
1813-1837

NBI

1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 674

Parish registers of Foulsham, 1558-1901 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.
Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD674/1-14.

General register of baptisms, marriages and burials, 1558-1686/7; Baptisms and burials, 1713-1799 (also some baptisms for 1709/10); Marriages, 1713-1770; Baptisms and burials, 1799-1812, terrier of 1813; Baptisms, 1813-1901; Marriages and banns, 1754-1812; Banns, 1812-1866 (includes three marriages for 1812). FHL BRITISH Film 2149767 Items 16 - 24
Marriages, 1813-1901; Burials, 1813-1901; Banns, 1823-1830; Various accounts, and christenings etc., 1713-1759 (not complete for all years). FHL BRITISH Film 2149768 Items 1 - 6

Archdeacons transcripts
Baptisms, burials and marriages 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1666-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526781 Item 14

Non-Conformist Records

Foulsham Baptist Chapel was built in brick in 1826 but later had a coat of render added to the exterior. The Original stables had been removed and interior remodelled. See Norfolk Churches webiste for Simon Knot's images of the interior and description http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/foulshambaptist/foulshambaptist.htm

Foulsham Baptist Church contributor Evelyn Simak.jpg

Norfolk Baptist Chapels transcribed by] Jenifer Edmonds published by Norfolk [England] : Worldwide Family History Services, [1998?]

Contents: Stepney Chapel, Kings Lynn (Particular Baptists), burials, 1843-1857 -- Bacton Norfolk Baptists, burials, 1826-1836 -- Ingham Norfolk Baptists, burials, 1785-1821 -- Foulsham Baptists, burials, 1785-1821 -- Great Ellingam Baptists, burials, 1817-1837.

Public Record Office reference nos. of transcribed material: RG4/1707, RG4/638, RG4/648, RG4/645, RG4/1254.

Burials, 1785-1857 (1 fiche). FHL BRITISH Fiche 6359876

See also

England Nonconformist Index for RG 4-8 (Record Groups 4-8)

England Nonconformist Index for RG 4-8 (Record Groups 4-8) (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438855.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Parish chest materials of Foulsham, 1640-1829 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich. Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD674/15, 47-57.

Register containing various "receipts" - recipes, constables' accounts and rates, 1728-1740, and baptisms, marriages and burials, 1746-1772; Overseers' rates and accounts, 1640-1723, 1817-1824; Removal orders, 1713-1829; Settlement certificates, 1716-1768. FHL BRITISH Film 2149768 Items 7 - 12
Settlement certificates (cont'd.), 1768-1827; Apprenticeship indentures, 1717-1731, 1717-1813; Settlement examinations, 1720-1823; Bastardy examination, 1734; Bastardy bonds, 1766-1825; Settlement papers etc. of Robert and Ann Vinyard, 1781-1786. FHL BRITISH Film 2149769 Items 1 - 7
Workhouse accounts, 1819-1835 Microfilm copy of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich, England.
Norfolk Record Office no.: Q 191 D 30/6/81

Workhouse accounts, 1819-1835 FHL BRITISH Film 1702371 Item 12

See also

England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 255-259. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  7. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
Foulsham Church.jpg

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:59.
  • This page has been accessed 4,823 times.